packages/mtl.git
3 months agoRegenerate .travis.yml master
Ryan Scott [Tue, 12 Mar 2019 14:20:20 +0000 (10:20 -0400)] 
Regenerate .travis.yml

This commit was performed automatically by a script.
https://github.com/RyanGlScott/travis-maintenance

3 months agoFactor out haskell-ci configuration
Ryan Scott [Tue, 12 Mar 2019 14:19:38 +0000 (10:19 -0400)] 
Factor out haskell-ci configuration

6 months agoRegenerate .travis.yml
Ryan Scott [Mon, 10 Dec 2018 12:01:27 +0000 (07:01 -0500)] 
Regenerate .travis.yml

This commit was performed automatically by a script.
https://github.com/RyanGlScott/travis-maintenance

7 months agoRegenerate .travis.yml
Ryan Scott [Tue, 6 Nov 2018 14:04:08 +0000 (09:04 -0500)] 
Regenerate .travis.yml

This commit was performed automatically by a script.
https://github.com/RyanGlScott/travis-maintenance

8 months agoRegenerate .travis.yml
Ryan Scott [Wed, 17 Oct 2018 18:58:39 +0000 (14:58 -0400)] 
Regenerate .travis.yml

This commit was performed automatically by a script.
https://github.com/RyanGlScott/travis-maintenance

8 months agoTravis: Fully enable GHC 8.6
Ryan Scott [Sat, 22 Sep 2018 13:24:36 +0000 (09:24 -0400)] 
Travis: Fully enable GHC 8.6

8 months agoAdd dist-newstyle to .gitignore
Ryan Scott [Sat, 22 Sep 2018 13:24:27 +0000 (09:24 -0400)] 
Add dist-newstyle to .gitignore

11 months agoTry out omit-local-package (#58)
Oleg Grenrus [Wed, 4 Jul 2018 14:32:05 +0000 (17:32 +0300)] 
Try out omit-local-package (#58)

* Try out omit-local-package

* Try to fix 7.8.4 job

* Typo: - vs =

11 months agoRevert "Travis: Use GHC 8.6.1"
Ryan Scott [Sun, 1 Jul 2018 18:46:03 +0000 (14:46 -0400)] 
Revert "Travis: Use GHC 8.6.1"

This reverts commit 15278af4c2e851d3e3c8e5b97bdc94610ee629f0.

11 months agoRevert "Try NOINSTALLEDCONSTRAINTS=true"
Ryan Scott [Sun, 1 Jul 2018 18:46:02 +0000 (14:46 -0400)] 
Revert "Try NOINSTALLEDCONSTRAINTS=true"

This reverts commit 6f33b3368f99581438f0cbd1a6900d14b4f96172.

11 months agoTry NOINSTALLEDCONSTRAINTS=true
Ryan Scott [Sun, 1 Jul 2018 17:34:00 +0000 (13:34 -0400)] 
Try NOINSTALLEDCONSTRAINTS=true

11 months agoTravis: Use GHC 8.6.1
Ryan Scott [Sun, 1 Jul 2018 16:54:34 +0000 (12:54 -0400)] 
Travis: Use GHC 8.6.1

12 months agoMerge pull request #57 from mrBliss/documentation-fix
Marco Zocca [Thu, 14 Jun 2018 09:06:57 +0000 (11:06 +0200)] 
Merge pull request #57 from mrBliss/documentation-fix

Documentation fix: MonadFoo instead of StateFoo

12 months agoDocumentation fix: MonadFoo instead of StateFoo
Thomas Winant [Thu, 14 Jun 2018 07:58:20 +0000 (09:58 +0200)] 
Documentation fix: MonadFoo instead of StateFoo

12 months agoMerge pull request #56 from owickstrom/docs
Edward Kmett [Mon, 11 Jun 2018 13:44:13 +0000 (15:44 +0200)] 
Merge pull request #56 from owickstrom/docs

Improve "first contact" aspect in README file

12 months agoImprovements based on @ocramz feedback
Oskar Wickström [Sun, 10 Jun 2018 12:36:30 +0000 (14:36 +0200)] 
Improvements based on @ocramz feedback

12 months agoImprove "first contact" aspect in README file
Oskar Wickström [Sat, 9 Jun 2018 13:06:05 +0000 (15:06 +0200)] 
Improve "first contact" aspect in README file

Added:

* Synopsis/header
* Structure
  * Lifting
  * Transformers
* Resources

12 months agoRe-add accidentally removed HADDOCK=false
Ryan Scott [Sun, 3 Jun 2018 13:21:53 +0000 (09:21 -0400)] 
Re-add accidentally removed HADDOCK=false

12 months agoUse GHC 8.4.3 on Travis
Ryan Scott [Sun, 3 Jun 2018 12:01:06 +0000 (08:01 -0400)] 
Use GHC 8.4.3 on Travis

13 months agoUse GHC 8.4.2 on Travis
Ryan Scott [Fri, 20 Apr 2018 17:50:20 +0000 (13:50 -0400)] 
Use GHC 8.4.2 on Travis

14 months agoAdd imports to Control.Monad.Reader examples and other small tweaks (#53)
Richard Cook [Thu, 29 Mar 2018 07:40:47 +0000 (00:40 -0700)] 
Add imports to Control.Monad.Reader examples and other small tweaks (#53)

15 months agoFully enable GHC 8.4.1 on Travis
Ryan Scott [Thu, 8 Mar 2018 16:14:26 +0000 (11:14 -0500)] 
Fully enable GHC 8.4.1 on Travis

15 months agoExplicitly declare the API contract of `mtl` to be "safe" v2.2.2
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sat, 24 Feb 2018 21:48:36 +0000 (22:48 +0100)] 
Explicitly declare the API contract of `mtl` to be "safe"

This avoids relying on the fragile "safe-inferred" status
and thus gives `mtl` a more explicit SafeHaskell API contract.

C.f. https://github.com/haskell/pvp/issues/22

15 months agoAdd `@since` annotations
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sat, 24 Feb 2018 21:24:58 +0000 (22:24 +0100)] 
Add `@since` annotations

15 months agoFix module-name reference haddock markup
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sat, 24 Feb 2018 21:05:42 +0000 (22:05 +0100)] 
Fix module-name reference haddock markup

15 months agoFix two more broken Haddock references
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sat, 24 Feb 2018 21:02:20 +0000 (22:02 +0100)] 
Fix two more broken Haddock references

15 months agoFix broken Haddock reference
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sat, 24 Feb 2018 21:00:21 +0000 (22:00 +0100)] 
Fix broken Haddock reference

15 months agoTurn module name into haddock reference in DEPRECATED
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Sat, 24 Feb 2018 20:56:00 +0000 (21:56 +0100)] 
Turn module name into haddock reference in DEPRECATED

16 months agoEven simpler .travis.yml
Ryan Scott [Wed, 17 Jan 2018 16:10:06 +0000 (11:10 -0500)] 
Even simpler .travis.yml

17 months agoUpgrade multi-ghc-travis setup
Ryan Scott [Tue, 16 Jan 2018 23:45:48 +0000 (18:45 -0500)] 
Upgrade multi-ghc-travis setup

18 months agoUse GHC 8.2.2 on Travis
Ryan Scott [Wed, 22 Nov 2017 22:03:08 +0000 (17:03 -0500)] 
Use GHC 8.2.2 on Travis

18 months agoMore Haddock cleanup
Ryan Scott [Tue, 21 Nov 2017 00:15:46 +0000 (19:15 -0500)] 
More Haddock cleanup

18 months agoFix typos in the ExceptT warning docs (#50)
Chris Dueck [Tue, 21 Nov 2017 00:15:47 +0000 (19:15 -0500)] 
Fix typos in the ExceptT warning docs (#50)

18 months agotypo fix and trailing whitespace removal
Edward Kmett [Mon, 20 Nov 2017 16:30:06 +0000 (11:30 -0500)] 
typo fix and trailing whitespace removal

18 months agoMerge pull request #49 from saurabhnanda/patch-1
Edward Kmett [Mon, 20 Nov 2017 16:29:03 +0000 (18:29 +0200)] 
Merge pull request #49 from saurabhnanda/patch-1

Put a warning about how ExceptT is different from Control.Exception

18 months agoPut a warning about how ExceptT is different from Control.Exception
Saurabh Nanda [Mon, 20 Nov 2017 14:35:52 +0000 (20:05 +0530)] 
Put a warning about how ExceptT is different from Control.Exception

We have been bitten by this confusion first-hand and would like to prevent others from having this experience.

21 months agoMention #36, #37, and #46 in the CHANGELOG
Ryan Scott [Tue, 29 Aug 2017 13:45:45 +0000 (09:45 -0400)] 
Mention #36, #37, and #46 in the CHANGELOG

21 months agoBeef up .gitignore
Ryan Scott [Tue, 29 Aug 2017 13:43:27 +0000 (09:43 -0400)] 
Beef up .gitignore

21 months agoGuard MonadWriter instance for (,) behind CPP
Ryan Scott [Tue, 29 Aug 2017 13:42:02 +0000 (09:42 -0400)] 
Guard MonadWriter instance for (,) behind CPP

This will only compile on base-4.9 and newer, since that's when
the corresponding Monad instance for (,) was introduced.

21 months agoExplicitly import Maybe(..)
Ryan Scott [Tue, 29 Aug 2017 13:40:53 +0000 (09:40 -0400)] 
Explicitly import Maybe(..)

21 months agoMerge pull request #37 from ElvishJerricco/master
Edward Kmett [Tue, 29 Aug 2017 10:00:56 +0000 (06:00 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #37 from ElvishJerricco/master

Added `liftEither` for lifting Either into MonadError

21 months agoMerge pull request #36 from obadz/patch-1
Edward Kmett [Tue, 29 Aug 2017 10:00:31 +0000 (06:00 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #36 from obadz/patch-1

add instance MonadError () Maybe

21 months agoMerge pull request #46 from Taneb/master
Edward Kmett [Tue, 29 Aug 2017 10:00:05 +0000 (06:00 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #46 from Taneb/master

Add MonadWriter instance for bare tuples

21 months agoAdd MonadWriter instance for bare tuples
Nathan van Doorn [Tue, 29 Aug 2017 09:15:14 +0000 (10:15 +0100)] 
Add MonadWriter instance for bare tuples

22 months agoAdd more GHC-generated directories to .gitignore
Ryan Scott [Wed, 16 Aug 2017 13:56:31 +0000 (09:56 -0400)] 
Add more GHC-generated directories to .gitignore

22 months agoFix GNUmakefile capitalization
Ryan Scott [Tue, 8 Aug 2017 15:32:44 +0000 (11:32 -0400)] 
Fix GNUmakefile capitalization

[ci skip]

22 months agoUpdate .gitignore (#45)
Doug Wilson [Tue, 1 Aug 2017 21:11:03 +0000 (09:11 +1200)] 
Update .gitignore (#45)

These files are generated while building ghc

22 months agoMerge branch 'kantp-master'
Ryan Scott [Mon, 24 Jul 2017 20:33:42 +0000 (16:33 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'kantp-master'

22 months agoUse the implemention of modify' from transformers
Ryan Scott [Mon, 24 Jul 2017 20:33:29 +0000 (16:33 -0400)] 
Use the implemention of modify' from transformers

22 months agoMerge branch 'master' of https://github.com/kantp/mtl into kantp-master
Ryan Scott [Mon, 24 Jul 2017 20:30:50 +0000 (16:30 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'master' of https://github.com/kantp/mtl into kantp-master

22 months agoAdd a README
Ryan Scott [Thu, 20 Jul 2017 18:10:12 +0000 (14:10 -0400)] 
Add a README

22 months ago[docs typo] easy done -> easily done (#22)
Ricky Elrod [Thu, 20 Jul 2017 17:55:38 +0000 (13:55 -0400)] 
[docs typo] easy done -> easily done (#22)

22 months agoFix broken link to the paper 'Generalising Monads to Arrows' (#34)
Nico Schottelius [Thu, 20 Jul 2017 17:55:10 +0000 (19:55 +0200)] 
Fix broken link to the paper 'Generalising Monads to Arrows' (#34)

Signed-off-by: Nico Schottelius <nico@wurzel.schottelius.org>
22 months agoUpdate URLs in mtl.cabal to reflect new home
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Thu, 20 Jul 2017 17:13:09 +0000 (19:13 +0200)] 
Update URLs in mtl.cabal to reflect new home

The previous URLs will continue to work via HTTP redirects

23 months agoMerge pull request #43 from hvr/pr/cabal110
Edward Kmett [Tue, 18 Jul 2017 14:49:23 +0000 (10:49 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #43 from hvr/pr/cabal110

Modernize .cabal file & update Travis CI job

23 months agoSkip haddock generation on GHC 7.6.3 due to haddock bug
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Tue, 18 Jul 2017 09:29:31 +0000 (11:29 +0200)] 
Skip haddock generation on GHC 7.6.3 due to haddock bug

This avoids failing due to

      ...
      55% ( 12 / 22) in 'Control.Monad.Cont'
    haddock: internal error: synifyKind
    cabal: Failed to build documentation for mtl-2.2.2.

23 months agoUpdate Travis CI job
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Tue, 18 Jul 2017 09:12:38 +0000 (11:12 +0200)] 
Update Travis CI job

23 months agoModernize .cabal file
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Tue, 18 Jul 2017 05:35:29 +0000 (07:35 +0200)] 
Modernize .cabal file

This updates the .cabal format to cabal-version:1.10
and turns `extensions:` into per-module pragmas
(this makes it easier to integrate `mtl` into GHC's
cabal-less `ghc-cabal` bootstrapping phase)

Note, this implicitly drops support for GHC < 7 as this sets the
requirement on a compiler that supports Haskell2010.

2 years agoMerge pull request #33 from tmcgilchrist/topic/no-partial
Edward Kmett [Wed, 28 Sep 2016 09:55:27 +0000 (05:55 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #33 from tmcgilchrist/topic/no-partial

Replace partial fromJust with maybe.

2 years agoAdded `liftEither` for lifting Either into MonadError
ElvishJerricco [Fri, 8 Jul 2016 16:48:14 +0000 (12:48 -0400)] 
Added `liftEither` for lifting Either into MonadError

Lifts an @'Either' e@ into any @'MonadError' e@.

> do { val <- liftEither =<< action1; action2 }

where @action1@ returns an 'Either' to represent errors.

3 years agoadd instance MonadError () Maybe
obadz [Tue, 7 Jun 2016 23:39:19 +0000 (00:39 +0100)] 
add instance MonadError () Maybe

3 years agoReplace partial fromJust with maybe.
Tim McGilchrist [Thu, 14 Apr 2016 00:03:33 +0000 (10:03 +1000)] 
Replace partial fromJust with maybe.

3 years agoMerge pull request #31 from phadej/transformers-0.5
Edward Kmett [Thu, 24 Dec 2015 17:11:58 +0000 (12:11 -0500)] 
Merge pull request #31 from phadej/transformers-0.5

Transformers 0.5

3 years agoSupport transformers-0.5
Oleg Grenrus [Wed, 23 Dec 2015 14:41:29 +0000 (16:41 +0200)] 
Support transformers-0.5

3 years agoUpdate .travis.yml
Oleg Grenrus [Wed, 23 Dec 2015 14:41:05 +0000 (16:41 +0200)] 
Update .travis.yml

3 years agoMake Control.Monad.Identity re-export IdentityT from Control.Monad.Trans.Identity...
Edward Kmett [Mon, 7 Sep 2015 06:51:17 +0000 (02:51 -0400)] 
Make Control.Monad.Identity re-export IdentityT from Control.Monad.Trans.Identity (Close #18)

3 years agoimprove the homogeneity of how we express MINIMAL pragmas
Edward Kmett [Mon, 7 Sep 2015 06:43:07 +0000 (02:43 -0400)] 
improve the homogeneity of how we express MINIMAL pragmas

3 years agoMerge pull request #24 from zerobuzz/update-docs-for-except
Edward Kmett [Wed, 24 Jun 2015 14:20:55 +0000 (10:20 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #24 from zerobuzz/update-docs-for-except

Update docs for except

3 years agoDocs: explain more clearly when Error instances are needed.
Matthias Fischmann [Wed, 24 Jun 2015 08:27:52 +0000 (10:27 +0200)] 
Docs: explain more clearly when Error instances are needed.

3 years agoDocs: drop spurious catchError.
Matthias Fischmann [Wed, 24 Jun 2015 08:19:50 +0000 (10:19 +0200)] 
Docs: drop spurious catchError.

4 years agouse cabal 1.22?
Edward Kmett [Sat, 7 Mar 2015 06:32:13 +0000 (01:32 -0500)] 
use cabal 1.22?

4 years agoMerge branch 'master' of github.com:ekmett/mtl
Edward Kmett [Sat, 7 Mar 2015 06:25:20 +0000 (01:25 -0500)] 
Merge branch 'master' of github.com:ekmett/mtl

4 years agoadd explicit 7.10.1 testing, upgrade 7.8.x target to 7.8.4
Edward Kmett [Sat, 7 Mar 2015 06:24:46 +0000 (01:24 -0500)] 
add explicit 7.10.1 testing, upgrade 7.8.x target to 7.8.4

4 years agoMerge pull request #17 from cosmo0920/patch-1
Edward Kmett [Tue, 9 Sep 2014 13:31:10 +0000 (09:31 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #17 from cosmo0920/patch-1

fix wrong module name in comment

4 years agofix wrong module name in comment
cosmo [Tue, 9 Sep 2014 13:06:31 +0000 (22:06 +0900)] 
fix wrong module name in comment

`Error` -> `Except`

4 years agoMerge branch 'master' of github.com:ekmett/mtl
Edward Kmett [Tue, 19 Aug 2014 11:43:35 +0000 (07:43 -0400)] 
Merge branch 'master' of github.com:ekmett/mtl

4 years agoDocumentation fix (noted by @hvr)
Edward Kmett [Tue, 19 Aug 2014 11:43:09 +0000 (07:43 -0400)] 
Documentation fix (noted by @hvr)

5 years agoMerge pull request #14 from dmjio/master
Edward Kmett [Sun, 15 Jun 2014 14:54:11 +0000 (10:54 -0400)] 
Merge pull request #14 from dmjio/master

Changed Identity bind definition

5 years agoChanged Identity bind definition
David Johnson [Sun, 15 Jun 2014 13:31:14 +0000 (08:31 -0500)] 
Changed Identity bind definition

5 years agoEnsure strictness in the state in modify'.
Philipp [Thu, 5 Jun 2014 11:32:58 +0000 (13:32 +0200)] 
Ensure strictness in the state in modify'.

The old implementation of modify' used state f with a function f that was strict in the new state.  However, in state itself, f is applied to the state in a non-strict way, so the strictness is lost.

The implementation suggested here should ensure that the state is evaluated.

5 years agoDrop "zero or plus" section of the description v2.2.1
Edward Kmett [Sun, 1 Jun 2014 23:50:33 +0000 (19:50 -0400)] 
Drop "zero or plus" section of the description

5 years agoControl.Monad.Except CHANGELOG entry
Edward Kmett [Sun, 1 Jun 2014 23:47:32 +0000 (19:47 -0400)] 
Control.Monad.Except CHANGELOG entry

5 years agoAdd Control.Monad.Except
Edward Kmett [Sun, 1 Jun 2014 23:46:56 +0000 (19:46 -0400)] 
Add Control.Monad.Except

5 years agodeprecate Control.Monad.Error if we aren't going to warn on mtl build about transform...
Edward Kmett [Sun, 1 Jun 2014 23:37:54 +0000 (19:37 -0400)] 
deprecate Control.Monad.Error if we aren't going to warn on mtl build about transformers deprecations

5 years agoAdd a 2.2.1 CHANGELOG entry
Edward Kmett [Sun, 1 Jun 2014 23:34:35 +0000 (19:34 -0400)] 
Add a 2.2.1 CHANGELOG entry

5 years agoProvide CPP guarded MINIMAL pragmas for GHC 7.8 to get nicer haddocks and compiler...
Edward Kmett [Sun, 1 Jun 2014 23:33:54 +0000 (19:33 -0400)] 
Provide CPP guarded MINIMAL pragmas for GHC 7.8 to get nicer haddocks and compiler support

5 years agoFix import of Except to avoid warning
Edward Kmett [Sun, 1 Jun 2014 23:33:18 +0000 (19:33 -0400)] 
Fix import of Except to avoid warning

5 years agostop warning about the deprecation of ErrorT on import, everywhere
Edward Kmett [Sun, 1 Jun 2014 23:32:36 +0000 (19:32 -0400)] 
stop warning about the deprecation of ErrorT on import, everywhere

5 years agoversion bump
Edward Kmett [Sun, 1 Jun 2014 23:32:24 +0000 (19:32 -0400)] 
version bump

5 years agoupdate .travis.yml to notify IRC
Edward Kmett [Mon, 12 May 2014 09:22:49 +0000 (19:22 +1000)] 
update .travis.yml to notify IRC

5 years agoEnhance Travis-CI job to test GHC>=7.0
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Mon, 12 May 2014 09:10:50 +0000 (11:10 +0200)] 
Enhance Travis-CI job to test GHC>=7.0

This copies over the Travis-CI file from the 2.0 branch

5 years agowork around the new export style for transformers 0.4 so we get
Edward Kmett [Mon, 5 May 2014 18:03:23 +0000 (04:03 +1000)] 
work around the new export style for transformers 0.4 so we get
`runFooT`.

5 years ago2.2 CHANGELOG entries
Edward Kmett [Mon, 5 May 2014 13:29:26 +0000 (23:29 +1000)] 
2.2 CHANGELOG entries

5 years agoinstance MonadCont m => MonadCont (ExceptT e m)
Edward Kmett [Mon, 5 May 2014 13:28:04 +0000 (23:28 +1000)] 
instance MonadCont m => MonadCont (ExceptT e m)

5 years agoinstance MonadRWS r w s m => MonadRWS r w s (ExceptT e m)
Edward Kmett [Mon, 5 May 2014 13:18:48 +0000 (23:18 +1000)] 
instance MonadRWS r w s m => MonadRWS r w s (ExceptT e m)

5 years agoinstance MonadState s m => MonadState s (ExceptT e m)
Edward Kmett [Mon, 5 May 2014 13:18:36 +0000 (23:18 +1000)] 
instance MonadState s m => MonadState s (ExceptT e m)

5 years agoinstance MonadReader r m => MonadReader r (ExceptT e m)
Edward Kmett [Mon, 5 May 2014 13:15:43 +0000 (23:15 +1000)] 
instance MonadReader r m => MonadReader r (ExceptT e m)

5 years agoinstance MonadWriter w m => MonadWriter w (ExceptT e m)
Edward Kmett [Mon, 5 May 2014 13:10:02 +0000 (23:10 +1000)] 
instance MonadWriter w m => MonadWriter w (ExceptT e m)

5 years agoMonadError for ExceptT
Edward Kmett [Mon, 5 May 2014 13:05:44 +0000 (23:05 +1000)] 
MonadError for ExceptT

5 years agore-export modify'
Edward Kmett [Mon, 5 May 2014 10:24:55 +0000 (20:24 +1000)] 
re-export modify'