packages/binary.git
8 years agoWrite some haddock comments. cps
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 6 Jun 2011 10:49:17 +0000 (12:49 +0200)] 
Write some haddock comments.

8 years agoget: remove dead code; getS, putS
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 6 Jun 2011 09:47:56 +0000 (11:47 +0200)] 
get: remove dead code; getS, putS

8 years agoreadN: force evaluation of new position. 4x speedup.
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 6 Jun 2011 09:46:35 +0000 (11:46 +0200)] 
readN: force evaluation of new position. 4x speedup.

8 years agoget: implement runGetState for compatibility
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 5 Jun 2011 22:30:12 +0000 (00:30 +0200)] 
get: implement runGetState for compatibility

It's marked as DEPRECATED, use runGetPartial insead.

8 years agoget: comments
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 5 Jun 2011 22:27:58 +0000 (00:27 +0200)] 
get: comments

8 years agoget: export the bytesRead function
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 5 Jun 2011 22:26:13 +0000 (00:26 +0200)] 
get: export the bytesRead function

This shows how many bytes we've read so far.

8 years agoget: increase byte counter when we consume data
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 5 Jun 2011 10:49:19 +0000 (12:49 +0200)] 
get: increase byte counter when we consume data

8 years agotests: inplace-bench should be PHONY
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 16 Feb 2011 22:33:57 +0000 (23:33 +0100)] 
tests: inplace-bench should be PHONY

8 years agotests: added inplace-bench (builds against local binary source
Sergei Trofimovich [Mon, 14 Feb 2011 20:59:11 +0000 (22:59 +0200)] 
tests: added inplace-bench (builds against local binary source

8 years agotests/MemBench.hs: fixed pointer arithmetics
Sergei Trofimovich [Mon, 14 Feb 2011 20:37:11 +0000 (22:37 +0200)] 
tests/MemBench.hs: fixed pointer arithmetics

8 years agoTrack the position of parsed input
Lennart Kolmodin [Wed, 26 Jan 2011 22:27:58 +0000 (23:27 +0100)] 
Track the position of parsed input

8 years agoUse test-framework when testing, remove old custom framework
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 24 Jan 2011 22:00:52 +0000 (23:00 +0100)] 
Use test-framework when testing, remove old custom framework

The old framework only worked with QC-1.

8 years agoChange example slightly, change -fglasgow-exts into proper extensions
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 16 Jan 2011 21:43:12 +0000 (22:43 +0100)] 
Change example slightly, change -fglasgow-exts into proper extensions

8 years agoImplement remaining :: Get Int
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 15 Jan 2011 22:49:29 +0000 (23:49 +0100)] 
Implement remaining :: Get Int

Changed the Int64 into an Int. Reasonable?

8 years agoFix my email in source files
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 15 Jan 2011 21:55:40 +0000 (22:55 +0100)] 
Fix my email in source files

8 years ago-Wall police for Get.hs
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 15 Jan 2011 21:52:37 +0000 (22:52 +0100)] 
-Wall police for Get.hs

8 years agolookAhead: implement for CPS
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 13 Jan 2011 20:17:47 +0000 (21:17 +0100)] 
lookAhead: implement for CPS

8 years agofeed: keep adding input even if we didn't get a partial
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 13 Jan 2011 20:17:01 +0000 (21:17 +0100)] 
feed: keep adding input even if we didn't get a partial

8 years agoImplement isEmpty
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 9 Jan 2011 22:30:31 +0000 (23:30 +0100)] 
Implement isEmpty

8 years agoRemove backtracking, big performance boost
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 9 Jan 2011 19:38:07 +0000 (20:38 +0100)] 
Remove backtracking, big performance boost

8 years agoWhen we know the length of the ByteString, use unsafeIndex instead of index
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 6 Jan 2011 10:25:04 +0000 (11:25 +0100)] 
When we know the length of the ByteString, use unsafeIndex instead of index

8 years agogetBytes: expose old part of the API, but depricate it
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 6 Jan 2011 09:40:44 +0000 (10:40 +0100)] 
getBytes: expose old part of the API, but depricate it

8 years agoskip: reimplement
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 6 Jan 2011 09:39:51 +0000 (10:39 +0100)] 
skip: reimplement

8 years agoRename getPush into getPartial
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 20 Nov 2010 12:44:55 +0000 (13:44 +0100)] 
Rename getPush into getPartial

8 years agoImplement operators 'plus' and 'try' for error recovering
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 29 Apr 2010 21:34:54 +0000 (23:34 +0200)] 
Implement operators 'plus' and 'try' for error recovering

Heavily based on attoparsec's design by Bryan O'Sullivan.

8 years agoRemove INLINE, no performance enhancement with ghc 6.12.1
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 4 Apr 2010 15:32:09 +0000 (17:32 +0200)] 
Remove INLINE, no performance enhancement with ghc 6.12.1

8 years agoTested (only) with GHC 6.12.1
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 21 Mar 2010 17:05:42 +0000 (18:05 +0100)] 
Tested (only) with GHC 6.12.1

8 years agoAPI and performance improvements
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 21 Mar 2010 17:02:21 +0000 (18:02 +0100)] 
API and performance improvements

Minor summary:
  - Some functions in the old API are not implemented
  - Can only fail if you run out of input, ie not finished
  - Adopted names of internals like they are in Attoparsec
  - Might not be portable to older GHCs any more

8 years agoChange my email
Lennart Kolmodin [Fri, 19 Mar 2010 17:25:25 +0000 (18:25 +0100)] 
Change my email

8 years agoMove the state from the Get monad to the Result type
Lennart Kolmodin [Fri, 19 Mar 2010 15:45:58 +0000 (16:45 +0100)] 
Move the state from the Get monad to the Result type

8 years agoRemove argument from needMore
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 18 Mar 2010 14:48:21 +0000 (15:48 +0100)] 
Remove argument from needMore

8 years agoPartial implementation of push style Data.Binary.Get
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 21 Jan 2010 22:53:58 +0000 (23:53 +0100)] 
Partial implementation of push style Data.Binary.Get

9 years agoSome tweaks to the testsuite
Don Stewart [Wed, 16 Sep 2009 17:44:04 +0000 (19:44 +0200)] 
Some tweaks to the testsuite

10 years agotweaks
Don Stewart [Mon, 23 Feb 2009 18:12:07 +0000 (19:12 +0100)] 
tweaks

9 years agoBump minor version: no API changes or semantic changes
Don Stewart [Wed, 16 Sep 2009 17:44:14 +0000 (19:44 +0200)] 
Bump minor version: no API changes or semantic changes

9 years agoMake Get a strict state monad, using unboxed tuples for speed
Simon Marlow [Tue, 15 Sep 2009 20:28:30 +0000 (22:28 +0200)] 
Make Get a strict state monad, using unboxed tuples for speed

Contrary to comments in the code, the bind operator for Get was lazy.
Making it strict and using unboxed tuples for the return type improves
performance for me.

One possible concern is whether the lazy Get monad is being relied on
to avoid stack overflow, but looking at the fix that was needed
recently for replicateM I'm presuming that this is not an issue.

10 years agominor bump
Don Stewart [Sat, 7 Mar 2009 23:57:33 +0000 (00:57 +0100)] 
minor bump

10 years agoFix laziness issue in getMany
Spencer Janssen [Sat, 7 Mar 2009 23:54:26 +0000 (00:54 +0100)] 
Fix laziness issue in getMany

10 years agoDocument getMany
Spencer Janssen [Sat, 7 Mar 2009 23:15:17 +0000 (00:15 +0100)] 
Document getMany

10 years agoReplace all instances of replicateM
Spencer Janssen [Sat, 7 Mar 2009 22:58:49 +0000 (23:58 +0100)] 
Replace all instances of replicateM

replicateM will cause a stack overflow when getting very large lists.  We
introduce getMany, which tail-recursively gets many elements and reverses them
at the end.  Compatibility with old versions is maintained.

10 years agoExpose Builder/Put relationship, courtesy Ross
Don Stewart [Thu, 12 Feb 2009 17:47:34 +0000 (18:47 +0100)] 
Expose Builder/Put relationship, courtesy Ross

10 years agoImproved instance for Sequence
Paulo Tanimoto [Sun, 8 Feb 2009 03:20:55 +0000 (04:20 +0100)] 
Improved instance for Sequence

The current implementation of put and get for Sequence merely converts it to (from) a list.  This misses the fact that we can get the length of a Sequence in O(1).  I wrote this patch with help from Ross Paterson, but I take responsibility for any omission.

10 years agoTim Newsham's runPutM patch
Don Stewart [Sun, 8 Feb 2009 17:58:25 +0000 (18:58 +0100)] 
Tim Newsham's runPutM patch

10 years agoBump in fork
Don Stewart [Sun, 8 Feb 2009 17:58:16 +0000 (18:58 +0100)] 
Bump in fork

10 years agoDisable explicit inlining in Get.hs, GHC is smarter than we are.
Don Stewart [Sat, 8 Nov 2008 23:10:59 +0000 (00:10 +0100)] 
Disable explicit inlining in Get.hs, GHC is smarter than we are.

10 years agonow Map/Set.size is used instead of List.length in 'put'
kr.angelov [Wed, 5 Nov 2008 20:00:03 +0000 (21:00 +0100)] 
now Map/Set.size is used instead of List.length in 'put'

10 years agolower the required bytestring version
Don Stewart [Thu, 28 Aug 2008 05:13:15 +0000 (07:13 +0200)] 
lower the required bytestring version

10 years agoCan't upload to hackage due to ghc < 6.5 flagggs
Don Stewart [Mon, 25 Aug 2008 21:05:44 +0000 (23:05 +0200)] 
Can't upload to hackage due to ghc < 6.5 flagggs

10 years agoWHNF the tail of a bytestring on decodeFile, will close the resource
Don Stewart [Mon, 25 Aug 2008 21:01:09 +0000 (23:01 +0200)] 
WHNF the tail of a bytestring on decodeFile, will close the resource

11 years agomore typos
Don Stewart [Fri, 18 Jul 2008 21:55:29 +0000 (23:55 +0200)] 
more typos

11 years agotypo
Don Stewart [Fri, 18 Jul 2008 18:45:05 +0000 (20:45 +0200)] 
typo

11 years agotestimonial
Don Stewart [Mon, 14 Jul 2008 18:37:31 +0000 (20:37 +0200)] 
testimonial

11 years agosome more inlining
Don Stewart [Fri, 9 May 2008 23:55:55 +0000 (01:55 +0200)] 
some more inlining

11 years agomore inlining
Don Stewart [Fri, 9 May 2008 21:58:37 +0000 (23:58 +0200)] 
more inlining

11 years agoUse snd-strict pair for PutM state
Don Stewart [Fri, 9 May 2008 21:58:09 +0000 (23:58 +0200)] 
Use snd-strict pair for PutM state

11 years agoMinor updates to HCAR
Lennart Kolmodin [Fri, 9 May 2008 21:08:01 +0000 (23:08 +0200)] 
Minor updates to HCAR

11 years agoMore attention to inlining of primitives
Don Stewart [Fri, 9 May 2008 18:51:22 +0000 (20:51 +0200)] 
More attention to inlining of primitives

11 years agoPay a bit more attention to inlining Put
Don Stewart [Fri, 9 May 2008 18:50:58 +0000 (20:50 +0200)] 
Pay a bit more attention to inlining Put

11 years agocrank up flags
Don Stewart [Fri, 9 May 2008 18:50:48 +0000 (20:50 +0200)] 
crank up flags

11 years agoUpdates to the HCAR
Lennart Kolmodin [Thu, 8 May 2008 22:42:47 +0000 (00:42 +0200)] 
Updates to the HCAR
Editing existing text to make it up to date

11 years agoUpdate links in HCAR entry
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 5 May 2008 17:40:53 +0000 (19:40 +0200)] 
Update links in HCAR entry

11 years agoLast HCAR entry from 2007-12
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 5 May 2008 16:59:31 +0000 (18:59 +0200)] 
Last HCAR entry from 2007-12

11 years ago-fallow-undecidable-instances really is a ghc option, not a cpp option
Duncan Coutts [Tue, 22 Apr 2008 08:48:19 +0000 (10:48 +0200)] 
-fallow-undecidable-instances really is a ghc option, not a cpp option

11 years agoindex.html
Don Stewart [Mon, 21 Apr 2008 23:12:11 +0000 (01:12 +0200)] 
index.html

11 years agobuild tests with -fhpc
Don Stewart [Mon, 21 Apr 2008 23:10:18 +0000 (01:10 +0200)] 
build tests with -fhpc

11 years ago+FlexibleContexts
Don Stewart [Mon, 21 Apr 2008 23:10:06 +0000 (01:10 +0200)] 
+FlexibleContexts

11 years agotypos, spotted by Jim Teisher
Don Stewart [Thu, 17 Apr 2008 15:24:34 +0000 (17:24 +0200)] 
typos, spotted by Jim Teisher

11 years agobump version
Don Stewart [Thu, 14 Feb 2008 21:59:20 +0000 (22:59 +0100)] 
bump version

11 years agoupdate docs
Don Stewart [Mon, 7 Jan 2008 23:24:25 +0000 (00:24 +0100)] 
update docs

11 years agoUse cpp-options rather than ghc-options where necessary
Spencer Janssen [Sat, 22 Dec 2007 05:51:18 +0000 (06:51 +0100)] 
Use cpp-options rather than ghc-options where necessary

11 years agoClean up Seq serialization
Spencer Janssen [Sat, 15 Dec 2007 08:23:19 +0000 (09:23 +0100)] 
Clean up Seq serialization

11 years agoAdd Applicative instances for PutM and Get
Spencer Janssen [Sat, 15 Dec 2007 05:06:20 +0000 (06:06 +0100)] 
Add Applicative instances for PutM and Get

11 years agopoint to in-tree homepage
Don Stewart [Wed, 28 Nov 2007 18:56:41 +0000 (19:56 +0100)] 
point to in-tree homepage

11 years agoupdate index.html
Don Stewart [Wed, 28 Nov 2007 18:56:01 +0000 (19:56 +0100)] 
update index.html

11 years agoadd homepage
Don Stewart [Wed, 28 Nov 2007 18:34:05 +0000 (19:34 +0100)] 
add homepage

11 years agoBump version to 0.4.1
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 21 Oct 2007 15:09:42 +0000 (17:09 +0200)] 
Bump version to 0.4.1

11 years agoFix compability with GHC < 6.8 on 32bit CPUs
Lennart Kolmodin [Sat, 20 Oct 2007 17:19:43 +0000 (19:19 +0200)] 
Fix compability with GHC < 6.8 on 32bit CPUs

11 years agoPortability fixes for ghc-6.4.2, ghc-6.6.1
Duncan Coutts [Tue, 16 Oct 2007 23:36:34 +0000 (01:36 +0200)] 
Portability fixes for ghc-6.4.2, ghc-6.6.1
Only tested on x86-64 with ghc-6.4.2 and ghc-6.6.1, not on ordinart 32bit x86

11 years agoand only explicitly import uncheckedShiftRL64# when < 64 bits
Don Stewart [Mon, 15 Oct 2007 17:39:46 +0000 (19:39 +0200)] 
and only explicitly import uncheckedShiftRL64# when < 64 bits

11 years agoImport missing function on 32bit
Lennart Kolmodin [Mon, 15 Oct 2007 05:14:10 +0000 (07:14 +0200)] 
Import missing function on 32bit

11 years agoFix typo in .cabal
Lennart Kolmodin [Sun, 14 Oct 2007 16:47:56 +0000 (18:47 +0200)] 
Fix typo in .cabal

11 years agocomment out ffi imports -- we can take them from GHC.Word now
Don Stewart [Fri, 12 Oct 2007 19:01:10 +0000 (21:01 +0200)] 
comment out ffi imports -- we can take them from GHC.Word now

11 years agoreplace calls to stg_ to hs_
Don Stewart [Thu, 11 Oct 2007 00:18:52 +0000 (02:18 +0200)] 
replace calls to stg_ to hs_

11 years agotested with 6.8 only
Don Stewart [Sat, 6 Oct 2007 15:10:56 +0000 (17:10 +0200)] 
tested with 6.8 only

11 years agomore text
Don Stewart [Sat, 6 Oct 2007 15:07:16 +0000 (17:07 +0200)] 
more text

11 years agobinary 0.4
Don Stewart [Sat, 6 Oct 2007 15:04:49 +0000 (17:04 +0200)] 
binary 0.4

11 years agoremove -Werror, interacts with -fhpc
Don Stewart [Sat, 6 Oct 2007 13:54:39 +0000 (15:54 +0200)] 
remove -Werror, interacts with -fhpc

11 years agoadd parallel driver
Don Stewart [Sat, 6 Oct 2007 13:54:05 +0000 (15:54 +0200)] 
add parallel driver

11 years agocrank em
Don Stewart [Sat, 6 Oct 2007 10:26:34 +0000 (12:26 +0200)] 
crank em

11 years agohelpfully inline Integer instance
Don Stewart [Sat, 6 Oct 2007 10:26:24 +0000 (12:26 +0200)] 
helpfully inline Integer instance

11 years agorequires new bytestring
Don Stewart [Sat, 6 Oct 2007 09:46:19 +0000 (11:46 +0200)] 
requires new bytestring

11 years agoUse a parallel testsuite, use -O2 for benchmarking, migrate threads in tests
Don Stewart [Sat, 6 Oct 2007 09:26:51 +0000 (11:26 +0200)] 
Use a parallel testsuite, use -O2 for benchmarking, migrate threads in tests

11 years agoand tests run
Don Stewart [Fri, 5 Oct 2007 16:13:09 +0000 (18:13 +0200)] 
and tests run

11 years agoupdate .cabal file
Don Stewart [Fri, 5 Oct 2007 16:12:59 +0000 (18:12 +0200)] 
update .cabal file

11 years agoPort binary to ghc 6.8
Don Stewart [Fri, 5 Oct 2007 16:12:22 +0000 (18:12 +0200)] 
Port binary to ghc 6.8

11 years agoFix strictness bug in runGetState that led to runtime errors.
Bryan O'Sullivan [Fri, 31 Aug 2007 05:08:12 +0000 (07:08 +0200)] 
Fix strictness bug in runGetState that led to runtime errors.

11 years agoAdd getLazyByteStringNul.
Bryan O'Sullivan [Thu, 30 Aug 2007 23:33:12 +0000 (01:33 +0200)] 
Add getLazyByteStringNul.

12 years agoDon't rely on the [a] instance in Array serialization
Spencer Janssen [Wed, 11 Jul 2007 03:17:47 +0000 (05:17 +0200)] 
Don't rely on the [a] instance in Array serialization

12 years agocomment the more efficient Array serialisation
Don Stewart [Wed, 11 Jul 2007 03:02:51 +0000 (05:02 +0200)] 
comment the more efficient Array serialisation

12 years agoAttempt to avoid expensive 'length' call in array serialization
Spencer Janssen [Wed, 11 Jul 2007 02:55:31 +0000 (04:55 +0200)] 
Attempt to avoid expensive 'length' call in array serialization