nofib.git
5 years agoTypo in comment ghc-7.8 ghc-7.8.1-release ghc-7.8.2-release
Gabor Greif [Fri, 10 Jan 2014 18:30:27 +0000 (19:30 +0100)] 
Typo in comment

5 years agofix some typos
Gabor Greif [Fri, 10 Jan 2014 11:02:06 +0000 (12:02 +0100)] 
fix some typos

5 years agoAdd Linux/x86 reference output for `kahan` benchmark
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Mon, 6 Jan 2014 14:35:03 +0000 (15:35 +0100)] 
Add Linux/x86 reference output for `kahan` benchmark

This makes the nofib testsuite pass again when run on Linux/x86.
See #7462 for more details

Signed-off-by: Herbert Valerio Riedel <hvr@gnu.org>
5 years agoteach nofib-analyse: discover compile time heap allocation info.
Muhaimin Ahsan [Sat, 5 Oct 2013 07:11:23 +0000 (02:11 -0500)] 
teach nofib-analyse: discover compile time heap allocation info.

Signed-off-by: Austin Seipp <austin@well-typed.com>
5 years agoRemove deprecated _scc_ (#8170)
Krzysztof Gogolewski [Tue, 3 Sep 2013 19:23:09 +0000 (21:23 +0200)] 
Remove deprecated _scc_ (#8170)

5 years agoAdd a copy of HashTable to keep hash GC benchmark working.
Edward Z. Yang [Wed, 2 Oct 2013 23:50:34 +0000 (16:50 -0700)] 
Add a copy of HashTable to keep hash GC benchmark working.

Signed-off-by: Edward Z. Yang <ezyang@mit.edu>
6 years agoRevert ill-advised change.
Edward Z. Yang [Sat, 31 Aug 2013 03:31:18 +0000 (20:31 -0700)] 
Revert ill-advised change.

Signed-off-by: Edward Z. Yang <ezyang@mit.edu>
6 years agoHack to make awards compile in the right order.
Edward Z. Yang [Sat, 31 Aug 2013 03:15:32 +0000 (20:15 -0700)] 
Hack to make awards compile in the right order.

Signed-off-by: Edward Z. Yang <ezyang@mit.edu>
6 years agoMake n-queens benchmark compatible with older GHCs
Herbert Valerio Riedel [Thu, 29 Aug 2013 21:03:53 +0000 (23:03 +0200)] 
Make n-queens benchmark compatible with older GHCs

The change in 957b959dbeb14c3b2d10998d67310e880c01a7dd
caused n-queens to break with older versions of `base`
which still have `Foreign.unsafePerformIO` in place.

6 years agoRemove -march=native from several shootout entries
Austin Seipp [Mon, 19 Aug 2013 08:03:24 +0000 (03:03 -0500)] 
Remove -march=native from several shootout entries

John Wiegley tells me this causes a failure for nofib on his machine, so
to be safe we'll back it out for now.

Signed-off-by: Austin Seipp <aseipp@pobox.com>
6 years agoAlso fix reverse-compliment and k-nucleotide.
Austin Seipp [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 11:55:15 +0000 (06:55 -0500)] 
Also fix reverse-compliment and k-nucleotide.

Signed-off-by: Austin Seipp <aseipp@pobox.com>
6 years agoBuild fasta.c with optimization enabled.
Austin Seipp [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 11:42:25 +0000 (06:42 -0500)] 
Build fasta.c with optimization enabled.

The flags are from the shootout.

This also avoids a bizarro linking error when CC=clang

Signed-off-by: Austin Seipp <aseipp@pobox.com>
6 years agoUse CC for linker when building fasta.c
Austin Seipp [Tue, 25 Jun 2013 11:36:15 +0000 (06:36 -0500)] 
Use CC for linker when building fasta.c

Signed-off-by: Austin Seipp <aseipp@pobox.com>
6 years agoDefault to 'ghc' rather than '$(HC)' for BOOT_HC
Ian Lynagh [Thu, 30 May 2013 12:28:56 +0000 (13:28 +0100)] 
Default to 'ghc' rather than '$(HC)' for BOOT_HC

It's likely that $(HC) won't have all the packages installed that
we need to compile nofib-analyse. Whatever ghc is in the path is a
better bet.

6 years agoDon't use -package array everywhere
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 28 May 2013 20:34:59 +0000 (21:34 +0100)] 
Don't use -package array everywhere

Only use it in benchmarks that use arrays

6 years agoFix booting again
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 28 May 2013 20:12:23 +0000 (21:12 +0100)] 
Fix booting again

6 years agoWe don't have to override WERROR now that we don't use the GHC build system
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 28 May 2013 19:52:30 +0000 (20:52 +0100)] 
We don't have to override WERROR now that we don't use the GHC build system

6 years agoGet the value of SplitObjs from the compiler we're using
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 28 May 2013 19:48:28 +0000 (20:48 +0100)] 
Get the value of SplitObjs from the compiler we're using

6 years agoMake the nofib build system independent of the GHC build system
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 28 May 2013 19:36:03 +0000 (20:36 +0100)] 
Make the nofib build system independent of the GHC build system

6 years agoBuild system: Remove unused DLL_PEN
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 28 May 2013 19:31:11 +0000 (20:31 +0100)] 
Build system: Remove unused DLL_PEN

6 years agoRemove doc-building support from the build system
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 28 May 2013 19:28:06 +0000 (20:28 +0100)] 
Remove doc-building support from the build system

We don't build any docs in nofib

6 years agoRemove build system code for multiple ways support
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 28 May 2013 19:16:23 +0000 (20:16 +0100)] 
Remove build system code for multiple ways support

It looks like it wasn't working anyway.

6 years agoTweak the Makefiles
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 28 May 2013 16:58:27 +0000 (17:58 +0100)] 
Tweak the Makefiles

6 years agoChange how we find a GHC to test
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 28 May 2013 14:46:31 +0000 (15:46 +0100)] 
Change how we find a GHC to test

We now do something similar to what the testsuite does.

6 years agoUpdate a comment
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 28 May 2013 13:36:30 +0000 (14:36 +0100)] 
Update a comment

6 years agoRemove some unused variables
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 28 May 2013 13:34:39 +0000 (14:34 +0100)] 
Remove some unused variables

6 years agoRemove USE_NEW_MKDEPEND_FLAGS
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 28 May 2013 13:08:17 +0000 (14:08 +0100)] 
Remove USE_NEW_MKDEPEND_FLAGS

It was always YES anyway

6 years agoRemove references to MKDEPENDC
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 28 May 2013 12:57:23 +0000 (13:57 +0100)] 
Remove references to MKDEPENDC

It no longer exists

6 years agoFollow removal of block in base.
Edward Z. Yang [Sun, 24 Feb 2013 02:43:29 +0000 (18:43 -0800)] 
Follow removal of block in base.

Signed-off-by: Edward Z. Yang <ezyang@mit.edu>
6 years agoFollow changes in base
Ian Lynagh [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 00:07:53 +0000 (00:07 +0000)] 
Follow changes in base

6 years agoMake shootout/README use markdown
Johan Tibell [Fri, 8 Feb 2013 21:19:48 +0000 (13:19 -0800)] 
Make shootout/README use markdown

6 years agoMore markdown markup in README.md
Johan Tibell [Fri, 8 Feb 2013 21:17:25 +0000 (13:17 -0800)] 
More markdown markup in README.md

6 years agoImprove README and convert to markdown.
David Terei [Fri, 8 Feb 2013 19:54:22 +0000 (11:54 -0800)] 
Improve README and convert to markdown.

6 years agoPass -pthread when compiling revcomp-c.c
Johan Tibell [Fri, 8 Feb 2013 17:01:11 +0000 (09:01 -0800)] 
Pass -pthread when compiling revcomp-c.c

6 years agoCompile all nofib programs with -O2 by default
Johan Tibell [Fri, 8 Feb 2013 16:55:49 +0000 (08:55 -0800)] 
Compile all nofib programs with -O2 by default

This is what we recommend people to use for best performance, so we
should use it in our benchmarks.

6 years agoRun k-nucleotide and reverse-complement by default
Johan Tibell [Thu, 7 Feb 2013 22:05:37 +0000 (14:05 -0800)] 
Run k-nucleotide and reverse-complement by default

6 years agoRun the shootout benchmarks by default
Johan Tibell [Thu, 7 Feb 2013 22:02:08 +0000 (14:02 -0800)] 
Run the shootout benchmarks by default

6 years agoAdd the k-nucleotide shootout benchmark
Johan Tibell [Thu, 7 Feb 2013 00:54:22 +0000 (16:54 -0800)] 
Add the k-nucleotide shootout benchmark

6 years agofasta is now in so remove comment from README
Johan Tibell [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 19:04:19 +0000 (11:04 -0800)] 
fasta is now in so remove comment from README

6 years agoAdd the reverse-complement shootout benchmark
Johan Tibell [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 19:02:32 +0000 (11:02 -0800)] 
Add the reverse-complement shootout benchmark

6 years agoRefactor fasta Makefile
Johan Tibell [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 18:46:40 +0000 (10:46 -0800)] 
Refactor fasta Makefile

6 years agoEnable fasta by default
Johan Tibell [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 18:12:03 +0000 (10:12 -0800)] 
Enable fasta by default

6 years agoMake runstdtest find generated fasta stdout files
Johan Tibell [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 18:10:51 +0000 (10:10 -0800)] 
Make runstdtest find generated fasta stdout files

6 years agoAdd the fasta shootout benchmark
Johan Tibell [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 17:46:52 +0000 (09:46 -0800)] 
Add the fasta shootout benchmark

The benchmark is not enabled by default as the runstdtest.prl script
doesn't find the automated stdout files on the first run, thus requiring
make to be run twice.

6 years agoRemoved some shootout benchmarks from under fibon
Johan Tibell [Tue, 5 Feb 2013 23:50:23 +0000 (15:50 -0800)] 
Removed some shootout benchmarks from under fibon

Newer versions (corresponding to what's currently on the shootout page)
have been added under nofib/shootout in an attempt to make these easier
to run.

6 years agoNote why all shootout benchmarks couldn't be added
Johan Tibell [Tue, 5 Feb 2013 23:19:31 +0000 (15:19 -0800)] 
Note why all shootout benchmarks couldn't be added

6 years agoAdd the n-body shootout benchmark
Johan Tibell [Tue, 5 Feb 2013 21:23:30 +0000 (13:23 -0800)] 
Add the n-body shootout benchmark

6 years agoAdd the binary-trees shootout benchmark
Johan Tibell [Tue, 5 Feb 2013 21:01:52 +0000 (13:01 -0800)] 
Add the binary-trees shootout benchmark

6 years agoMake input sizes match the shootout settings
Johan Tibell [Tue, 5 Feb 2013 20:41:02 +0000 (12:41 -0800)] 
Make input sizes match the shootout settings

6 years agoAdd the spectral-norm shootout benchmark
Johan Tibell [Tue, 5 Feb 2013 19:46:35 +0000 (11:46 -0800)] 
Add the spectral-norm shootout benchmark

6 years agoAdd the fannkuch-redux shootout benchmark
Johan Tibell [Tue, 5 Feb 2013 19:00:39 +0000 (11:00 -0800)] 
Add the fannkuch-redux shootout benchmark

6 years agoAdd the pidigits shootout benchmark
Johan Tibell [Tue, 5 Feb 2013 18:14:45 +0000 (10:14 -0800)] 
Add the pidigits shootout benchmark

6 years agoAdd notes about nofib
Simon Peyton Jones [Wed, 16 Jan 2013 17:13:04 +0000 (17:13 +0000)] 
Add notes about nofib

6 years agoFix mandel in slow mode
Ian Lynagh [Wed, 12 Dec 2012 01:43:03 +0000 (01:43 +0000)] 
Fix mandel in slow mode

6 years agoDetabbing
Ian Lynagh [Wed, 12 Dec 2012 01:40:45 +0000 (01:40 +0000)] 
Detabbing

6 years agoUse a larger stack for spectral/hartel/event in slow mode
Ian Lynagh [Wed, 12 Dec 2012 00:41:49 +0000 (00:41 +0000)] 
Use a larger stack for spectral/hartel/event in slow mode

6 years agoAdd slow output for fft2 on x86_64/Linux
Ian Lynagh [Wed, 12 Dec 2012 00:39:37 +0000 (00:39 +0000)] 
Add slow output for fft2 on x86_64/Linux

I haven't checked if the output is right or not, but it looks roughly
consistent with the existing variety of values.

6 years agoFix slow output for the power benchmark
Ian Lynagh [Wed, 12 Dec 2012 00:26:49 +0000 (00:26 +0000)] 
Fix slow output for the power benchmark

6 years agoRemove -fglasgow-exts when building nofib-analyse
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 11 Dec 2012 23:52:11 +0000 (23:52 +0000)] 
Remove -fglasgow-exts when building nofib-analyse

6 years agoAdd new imaginary nofib benchmark kahan
Johan Tibell [Fri, 30 Nov 2012 03:29:09 +0000 (19:29 -0800)] 
Add new imaginary nofib benchmark kahan

The benchmark implements the Kahan summation algorithm and tests unboxed
arrays and floating point arithmetic in tight loops.

6 years agoFollow changes in dependency generation.
Edward Z. Yang [Wed, 7 Nov 2012 07:18:37 +0000 (23:18 -0800)] 
Follow changes in dependency generation.

Signed-off-by: Edward Z. Yang <ezyang@mit.edu>
7 years agoPrelude no longer exports catch
Simon Marlow [Mon, 9 Jul 2012 15:27:47 +0000 (16:27 +0100)] 
Prelude no longer exports catch

7 years agocatch is no longer exported by Prelude
Simon Marlow [Mon, 9 Jul 2012 15:10:57 +0000 (16:10 +0100)] 
catch is no longer exported by Prelude

7 years agoSmall cleans to makefile & gitignore.
David Terei [Fri, 30 Mar 2012 00:20:17 +0000 (17:20 -0700)] 
Small cleans to makefile & gitignore.

7 years agoSort benchmarks in alphabetical order
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 23:21:48 +0000 (16:21 -0700)] 
Sort benchmarks in alphabetical order

7 years agoFix callback001
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 23:15:51 +0000 (16:15 -0700)] 
Fix callback001

7 years agoUpdate .gitignore
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 20:20:12 +0000 (13:20 -0700)] 
Update .gitignore

7 years agoFix transcols
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 20:19:33 +0000 (13:19 -0700)] 
Fix transcols

7 years agoFix hash and clean fibon makefile.
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 10:42:52 +0000 (03:42 -0700)] 
Fix hash and clean fibon makefile.

7 years agoupdate .gitignore
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 10:35:06 +0000 (03:35 -0700)] 
update .gitignore

7 years agoUpdate and clean makefiles
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 10:33:28 +0000 (03:33 -0700)] 
Update and clean makefiles

7 years agoupdate .gitignore
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 09:30:23 +0000 (02:30 -0700)] 
update .gitignore

7 years agoRemove extensible-exceptions package
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 09:29:14 +0000 (02:29 -0700)] 
Remove extensible-exceptions package

7 years agoAdd fibon makefile
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 08:47:35 +0000 (01:47 -0700)] 
Add fibon makefile

7 years agoUpdate .gitignore
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 08:47:31 +0000 (01:47 -0700)] 
Update .gitignore

7 years agoFix up debrecated lib usage in nofib.
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 08:45:17 +0000 (01:45 -0700)] 
Fix up debrecated lib usage in nofib.

7 years agoRemove fibon files
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 06:36:53 +0000 (23:36 -0700)] 
Remove fibon files

7 years agoSome fixes to hackage benchmarks
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 06:32:51 +0000 (23:32 -0700)] 
Some fixes to hackage benchmarks

7 years agoMerge branch 'master' of http://darcs.haskell.org/nofib
David Terei [Mon, 27 Feb 2012 22:01:42 +0000 (14:01 -0800)] 
Merge branch 'master' of darcs.haskell.org/nofib

7 years agoAdd new observed stdouts for various benchmarks
Max Bolingbroke [Thu, 23 Feb 2012 19:40:54 +0000 (19:40 +0000)] 
Add new observed stdouts for various benchmarks

7 years agoRemove all uses of sed from runstdtest so we don't get spurious stdout/stderr failure...
Max Bolingbroke [Thu, 23 Feb 2012 19:29:03 +0000 (19:29 +0000)] 
Remove all uses of sed from runstdtest so we don't get spurious stdout/stderr failures on OS X

7 years agoAllow the mutator elapsed time to contain a minus sign (yes, this can happen for...
Max Bolingbroke [Thu, 23 Feb 2012 19:28:24 +0000 (19:28 +0000)] 
Allow the mutator elapsed time to contain a minus sign (yes, this can happen for some reason)

7 years agoDetect unhandled ghc output lines in Slurp
Max Bolingbroke [Thu, 23 Feb 2012 19:28:02 +0000 (19:28 +0000)] 
Detect unhandled ghc output lines in Slurp

7 years agoMerge branch 'master' of http://darcs.haskell.org/nofib
David Terei [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 02:52:47 +0000 (18:52 -0800)] 
Merge branch 'master' of darcs.haskell.org/nofib

7 years agoFix 'stdout' files so x86 works again.
David Terei [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 00:13:15 +0000 (00:13 +0000)] 
Fix 'stdout' files so x86 works again.

7 years agoAdd .gitignore
David Terei [Thu, 26 Jan 2012 02:32:40 +0000 (18:32 -0800)] 
Add .gitignore

7 years agoAdd note to README about EXTRA_HC_OPTS
David Terei [Thu, 26 Jan 2012 02:31:41 +0000 (18:31 -0800)] 
Add note to README about EXTRA_HC_OPTS

7 years agoRevert "Move benchmarks into benchmark/ subdir."
David Terei [Thu, 19 Jan 2012 20:29:04 +0000 (12:29 -0800)] 
Revert "Move benchmarks into benchmark/ subdir."

This reverts commit 0449cb065437fc8014b6669e5f1c2c8f4a926d16.

Conflicts:

.gitignore

7 years agoRemove Dph benchmarks as too difficult to get working
David Terei [Tue, 17 Jan 2012 19:11:17 +0000 (11:11 -0800)] 
Remove Dph benchmarks as too difficult to get working

7 years agoWibble
David Terei [Tue, 17 Jan 2012 18:56:25 +0000 (10:56 -0800)] 
Wibble

7 years agoUpdate .gitignore
David Terei [Tue, 17 Jan 2012 18:54:35 +0000 (10:54 -0800)] 
Update .gitignore

7 years agoMove benchmarks into benchmark/ subdir.
David Terei [Tue, 17 Jan 2012 18:53:12 +0000 (10:53 -0800)] 
Move benchmarks into benchmark/ subdir.

7 years agoUpdate makefile to mention other dirs
David Terei [Tue, 17 Jan 2012 18:13:47 +0000 (10:13 -0800)] 
Update makefile to mention other dirs

7 years agoUpdate .gitignore
David Terei [Tue, 17 Jan 2012 08:35:58 +0000 (00:35 -0800)] 
Update .gitignore

7 years agoFixup Hackage benchmarks.
David Terei [Tue, 17 Jan 2012 08:34:43 +0000 (00:34 -0800)] 
Fixup Hackage benchmarks.

7 years agoFix up Fst benchmark.
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 21:31:40 +0000 (13:31 -0800)] 
Fix up Fst benchmark.

7 years agoAdd to .gitignore
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 19:21:48 +0000 (11:21 -0800)] 
Add to .gitignore

7 years agoFix Laplace benchmark.
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 19:20:37 +0000 (11:20 -0800)] 
Fix Laplace benchmark.

7 years agoFix up Repa makefile
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 10:46:50 +0000 (02:46 -0800)] 
Fix up Repa makefile

7 years agoAdd Repa Volume bechmark.
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 10:44:46 +0000 (02:44 -0800)] 
Add Repa Volume bechmark.