nofib.git
6 years agoCompile all nofib programs with -O2 by default
Johan Tibell [Fri, 8 Feb 2013 16:55:49 +0000 (08:55 -0800)] 
Compile all nofib programs with -O2 by default

This is what we recommend people to use for best performance, so we
should use it in our benchmarks.

6 years agoRun k-nucleotide and reverse-complement by default
Johan Tibell [Thu, 7 Feb 2013 22:05:37 +0000 (14:05 -0800)] 
Run k-nucleotide and reverse-complement by default

6 years agoRun the shootout benchmarks by default
Johan Tibell [Thu, 7 Feb 2013 22:02:08 +0000 (14:02 -0800)] 
Run the shootout benchmarks by default

6 years agoAdd the k-nucleotide shootout benchmark
Johan Tibell [Thu, 7 Feb 2013 00:54:22 +0000 (16:54 -0800)] 
Add the k-nucleotide shootout benchmark

6 years agofasta is now in so remove comment from README
Johan Tibell [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 19:04:19 +0000 (11:04 -0800)] 
fasta is now in so remove comment from README

6 years agoAdd the reverse-complement shootout benchmark
Johan Tibell [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 19:02:32 +0000 (11:02 -0800)] 
Add the reverse-complement shootout benchmark

6 years agoRefactor fasta Makefile
Johan Tibell [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 18:46:40 +0000 (10:46 -0800)] 
Refactor fasta Makefile

6 years agoEnable fasta by default
Johan Tibell [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 18:12:03 +0000 (10:12 -0800)] 
Enable fasta by default

6 years agoMake runstdtest find generated fasta stdout files
Johan Tibell [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 18:10:51 +0000 (10:10 -0800)] 
Make runstdtest find generated fasta stdout files

6 years agoAdd the fasta shootout benchmark
Johan Tibell [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 17:46:52 +0000 (09:46 -0800)] 
Add the fasta shootout benchmark

The benchmark is not enabled by default as the runstdtest.prl script
doesn't find the automated stdout files on the first run, thus requiring
make to be run twice.

6 years agoRemoved some shootout benchmarks from under fibon
Johan Tibell [Tue, 5 Feb 2013 23:50:23 +0000 (15:50 -0800)] 
Removed some shootout benchmarks from under fibon

Newer versions (corresponding to what's currently on the shootout page)
have been added under nofib/shootout in an attempt to make these easier
to run.

6 years agoNote why all shootout benchmarks couldn't be added
Johan Tibell [Tue, 5 Feb 2013 23:19:31 +0000 (15:19 -0800)] 
Note why all shootout benchmarks couldn't be added

6 years agoAdd the n-body shootout benchmark
Johan Tibell [Tue, 5 Feb 2013 21:23:30 +0000 (13:23 -0800)] 
Add the n-body shootout benchmark

6 years agoAdd the binary-trees shootout benchmark
Johan Tibell [Tue, 5 Feb 2013 21:01:52 +0000 (13:01 -0800)] 
Add the binary-trees shootout benchmark

6 years agoMake input sizes match the shootout settings
Johan Tibell [Tue, 5 Feb 2013 20:41:02 +0000 (12:41 -0800)] 
Make input sizes match the shootout settings

6 years agoAdd the spectral-norm shootout benchmark
Johan Tibell [Tue, 5 Feb 2013 19:46:35 +0000 (11:46 -0800)] 
Add the spectral-norm shootout benchmark

6 years agoAdd the fannkuch-redux shootout benchmark
Johan Tibell [Tue, 5 Feb 2013 19:00:39 +0000 (11:00 -0800)] 
Add the fannkuch-redux shootout benchmark

6 years agoAdd the pidigits shootout benchmark
Johan Tibell [Tue, 5 Feb 2013 18:14:45 +0000 (10:14 -0800)] 
Add the pidigits shootout benchmark

6 years agoAdd notes about nofib
Simon Peyton Jones [Wed, 16 Jan 2013 17:13:04 +0000 (17:13 +0000)] 
Add notes about nofib

6 years agoFix mandel in slow mode
Ian Lynagh [Wed, 12 Dec 2012 01:43:03 +0000 (01:43 +0000)] 
Fix mandel in slow mode

6 years agoDetabbing
Ian Lynagh [Wed, 12 Dec 2012 01:40:45 +0000 (01:40 +0000)] 
Detabbing

6 years agoUse a larger stack for spectral/hartel/event in slow mode
Ian Lynagh [Wed, 12 Dec 2012 00:41:49 +0000 (00:41 +0000)] 
Use a larger stack for spectral/hartel/event in slow mode

6 years agoAdd slow output for fft2 on x86_64/Linux
Ian Lynagh [Wed, 12 Dec 2012 00:39:37 +0000 (00:39 +0000)] 
Add slow output for fft2 on x86_64/Linux

I haven't checked if the output is right or not, but it looks roughly
consistent with the existing variety of values.

6 years agoFix slow output for the power benchmark
Ian Lynagh [Wed, 12 Dec 2012 00:26:49 +0000 (00:26 +0000)] 
Fix slow output for the power benchmark

6 years agoRemove -fglasgow-exts when building nofib-analyse
Ian Lynagh [Tue, 11 Dec 2012 23:52:11 +0000 (23:52 +0000)] 
Remove -fglasgow-exts when building nofib-analyse

6 years agoAdd new imaginary nofib benchmark kahan
Johan Tibell [Fri, 30 Nov 2012 03:29:09 +0000 (19:29 -0800)] 
Add new imaginary nofib benchmark kahan

The benchmark implements the Kahan summation algorithm and tests unboxed
arrays and floating point arithmetic in tight loops.

7 years agoFollow changes in dependency generation.
Edward Z. Yang [Wed, 7 Nov 2012 07:18:37 +0000 (23:18 -0800)] 
Follow changes in dependency generation.

Signed-off-by: Edward Z. Yang <ezyang@mit.edu>
7 years agoPrelude no longer exports catch
Simon Marlow [Mon, 9 Jul 2012 15:27:47 +0000 (16:27 +0100)] 
Prelude no longer exports catch

7 years agocatch is no longer exported by Prelude
Simon Marlow [Mon, 9 Jul 2012 15:10:57 +0000 (16:10 +0100)] 
catch is no longer exported by Prelude

7 years agoSmall cleans to makefile & gitignore.
David Terei [Fri, 30 Mar 2012 00:20:17 +0000 (17:20 -0700)] 
Small cleans to makefile & gitignore.

7 years agoSort benchmarks in alphabetical order
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 23:21:48 +0000 (16:21 -0700)] 
Sort benchmarks in alphabetical order

7 years agoFix callback001
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 23:15:51 +0000 (16:15 -0700)] 
Fix callback001

7 years agoUpdate .gitignore
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 20:20:12 +0000 (13:20 -0700)] 
Update .gitignore

7 years agoFix transcols
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 20:19:33 +0000 (13:19 -0700)] 
Fix transcols

7 years agoFix hash and clean fibon makefile.
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 10:42:52 +0000 (03:42 -0700)] 
Fix hash and clean fibon makefile.

7 years agoupdate .gitignore
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 10:35:06 +0000 (03:35 -0700)] 
update .gitignore

7 years agoUpdate and clean makefiles
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 10:33:28 +0000 (03:33 -0700)] 
Update and clean makefiles

7 years agoupdate .gitignore
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 09:30:23 +0000 (02:30 -0700)] 
update .gitignore

7 years agoRemove extensible-exceptions package
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 09:29:14 +0000 (02:29 -0700)] 
Remove extensible-exceptions package

7 years agoAdd fibon makefile
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 08:47:35 +0000 (01:47 -0700)] 
Add fibon makefile

7 years agoUpdate .gitignore
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 08:47:31 +0000 (01:47 -0700)] 
Update .gitignore

7 years agoFix up debrecated lib usage in nofib.
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 08:45:17 +0000 (01:45 -0700)] 
Fix up debrecated lib usage in nofib.

7 years agoRemove fibon files
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 06:36:53 +0000 (23:36 -0700)] 
Remove fibon files

7 years agoSome fixes to hackage benchmarks
David Terei [Thu, 29 Mar 2012 06:32:51 +0000 (23:32 -0700)] 
Some fixes to hackage benchmarks

7 years agoMerge branch 'master' of http://darcs.haskell.org/nofib
David Terei [Mon, 27 Feb 2012 22:01:42 +0000 (14:01 -0800)] 
Merge branch 'master' of darcs.haskell.org/nofib

7 years agoAdd new observed stdouts for various benchmarks
Max Bolingbroke [Thu, 23 Feb 2012 19:40:54 +0000 (19:40 +0000)] 
Add new observed stdouts for various benchmarks

7 years agoRemove all uses of sed from runstdtest so we don't get spurious stdout/stderr failure...
Max Bolingbroke [Thu, 23 Feb 2012 19:29:03 +0000 (19:29 +0000)] 
Remove all uses of sed from runstdtest so we don't get spurious stdout/stderr failures on OS X

7 years agoAllow the mutator elapsed time to contain a minus sign (yes, this can happen for...
Max Bolingbroke [Thu, 23 Feb 2012 19:28:24 +0000 (19:28 +0000)] 
Allow the mutator elapsed time to contain a minus sign (yes, this can happen for some reason)

7 years agoDetect unhandled ghc output lines in Slurp
Max Bolingbroke [Thu, 23 Feb 2012 19:28:02 +0000 (19:28 +0000)] 
Detect unhandled ghc output lines in Slurp

7 years agoMerge branch 'master' of http://darcs.haskell.org/nofib
David Terei [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 02:52:47 +0000 (18:52 -0800)] 
Merge branch 'master' of darcs.haskell.org/nofib

7 years agoFix 'stdout' files so x86 works again.
David Terei [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 00:13:15 +0000 (00:13 +0000)] 
Fix 'stdout' files so x86 works again.

7 years agoAdd .gitignore
David Terei [Thu, 26 Jan 2012 02:32:40 +0000 (18:32 -0800)] 
Add .gitignore

7 years agoAdd note to README about EXTRA_HC_OPTS
David Terei [Thu, 26 Jan 2012 02:31:41 +0000 (18:31 -0800)] 
Add note to README about EXTRA_HC_OPTS

7 years agoRevert "Move benchmarks into benchmark/ subdir."
David Terei [Thu, 19 Jan 2012 20:29:04 +0000 (12:29 -0800)] 
Revert "Move benchmarks into benchmark/ subdir."

This reverts commit 0449cb065437fc8014b6669e5f1c2c8f4a926d16.

Conflicts:

.gitignore

7 years agoRemove Dph benchmarks as too difficult to get working
David Terei [Tue, 17 Jan 2012 19:11:17 +0000 (11:11 -0800)] 
Remove Dph benchmarks as too difficult to get working

7 years agoWibble
David Terei [Tue, 17 Jan 2012 18:56:25 +0000 (10:56 -0800)] 
Wibble

7 years agoUpdate .gitignore
David Terei [Tue, 17 Jan 2012 18:54:35 +0000 (10:54 -0800)] 
Update .gitignore

7 years agoMove benchmarks into benchmark/ subdir.
David Terei [Tue, 17 Jan 2012 18:53:12 +0000 (10:53 -0800)] 
Move benchmarks into benchmark/ subdir.

7 years agoUpdate makefile to mention other dirs
David Terei [Tue, 17 Jan 2012 18:13:47 +0000 (10:13 -0800)] 
Update makefile to mention other dirs

7 years agoUpdate .gitignore
David Terei [Tue, 17 Jan 2012 08:35:58 +0000 (00:35 -0800)] 
Update .gitignore

7 years agoFixup Hackage benchmarks.
David Terei [Tue, 17 Jan 2012 08:34:43 +0000 (00:34 -0800)] 
Fixup Hackage benchmarks.

7 years agoFix up Fst benchmark.
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 21:31:40 +0000 (13:31 -0800)] 
Fix up Fst benchmark.

7 years agoAdd to .gitignore
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 19:21:48 +0000 (11:21 -0800)] 
Add to .gitignore

7 years agoFix Laplace benchmark.
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 19:20:37 +0000 (11:20 -0800)] 
Fix Laplace benchmark.

7 years agoFix up Repa makefile
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 10:46:50 +0000 (02:46 -0800)] 
Fix up Repa makefile

7 years agoAdd Repa Volume bechmark.
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 10:44:46 +0000 (02:44 -0800)] 
Add Repa Volume bechmark.

7 years agoAdd Repa Sobel benchmark
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 10:36:51 +0000 (02:36 -0800)] 
Add Repa Sobel benchmark

7 years agoAdd repa Canny benchmark
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 10:30:47 +0000 (02:30 -0800)] 
Add repa Canny benchmark

7 years agoFixup repa laplace & mmult
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 10:29:38 +0000 (02:29 -0800)] 
Fixup repa laplace & mmult

7 years agoUpdate FFT3d repa benchmark.
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 10:09:15 +0000 (02:09 -0800)] 
Update FFT3d repa benchmark.

7 years agoRemove fibon specific files
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 09:56:00 +0000 (01:56 -0800)] 
Remove fibon specific files

7 years agoFixup Blur
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 09:47:24 +0000 (01:47 -0800)] 
Fixup Blur

7 years agoRemove Fibon specific files.
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 09:25:03 +0000 (01:25 -0800)] 
Remove Fibon specific files.

7 years agoRemove unused Fibon config files from nofib.
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 09:19:25 +0000 (01:19 -0800)] 
Remove unused Fibon config files from nofib.

7 years agoAdd repa benchmarks to gitignore
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 09:18:05 +0000 (01:18 -0800)] 
Add repa benchmarks to gitignore

7 years agoAdd gc benchmarks to gitignore
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 09:17:44 +0000 (01:17 -0800)] 
Add gc benchmarks to gitignore

7 years agoUpdate Repa libraries (fixes Blur for now)
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 09:13:48 +0000 (01:13 -0800)] 
Update Repa libraries (fixes Blur for now)

7 years agoRemove broken ghc benchmark.
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 08:04:14 +0000 (00:04 -0800)] 
Remove broken ghc benchmark.

7 years agoUpdate README
David Terei [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 08:04:03 +0000 (00:04 -0800)] 
Update README

7 years agoFix up smp benchees.
David Terei [Sat, 14 Jan 2012 02:18:31 +0000 (18:18 -0800)] 
Fix up smp benchees.

7 years agoComment wibbles
David Terei [Fri, 13 Jan 2012 23:31:54 +0000 (15:31 -0800)] 
Comment wibbles

7 years agoRemove old files.
David Terei [Thu, 12 Jan 2012 22:51:12 +0000 (14:51 -0800)] 
Remove old files.

7 years agoMerge branch 'master' of http://darcs.haskell.org/nofib
David Terei [Fri, 2 Dec 2011 23:54:49 +0000 (15:54 -0800)] 
Merge branch 'master' of darcs.haskell.org/nofib

7 years agoTrack changes to Num superclasses
Simon Marlow [Thu, 1 Dec 2011 13:37:28 +0000 (13:37 +0000)] 
Track changes to Num superclasses

7 years agofix build with GHC 7.4+ (add Show constraint)
Simon Marlow [Wed, 23 Nov 2011 13:03:41 +0000 (13:03 +0000)] 
fix build with GHC 7.4+ (add Show constraint)

7 years agoupdate to work with the latest parallel package
Simon Marlow [Thu, 13 Oct 2011 11:06:20 +0000 (12:06 +0100)] 
update to work with the latest parallel package

7 years agocomments
Simon Marlow [Thu, 30 Jun 2011 14:33:04 +0000 (15:33 +0100)] 
comments

8 years agoMore Eq, Show, Num fixes
David Terei [Wed, 26 Oct 2011 09:14:44 +0000 (02:14 -0700)] 
More Eq, Show, Num fixes

8 years agoMore fixes for Eq, Num changes.
David Terei [Wed, 26 Oct 2011 08:52:27 +0000 (01:52 -0700)] 
More fixes for Eq, Num changes.

8 years agoFix nofib for recent Num, Eq changes
David Terei [Wed, 26 Oct 2011 08:41:38 +0000 (01:41 -0700)] 
Fix nofib for recent Num, Eq changes

8 years agokill datatype context
Simon Marlow [Tue, 14 Jun 2011 08:26:13 +0000 (09:26 +0100)] 
kill datatype context

8 years agoupdate to cope with new RTS stats format for GCs
Simon Marlow [Mon, 9 May 2011 09:40:00 +0000 (10:40 +0100)] 
update to cope with new RTS stats format for GCs

8 years agofix standard deviation calculation
Simon Marlow [Thu, 21 Apr 2011 09:18:13 +0000 (10:18 +0100)] 
fix standard deviation calculation

8 years agoAdd --stddev and --include-baseline flags
Simon Marlow [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 12:42:17 +0000 (13:42 +0100)] 
Add --stddev and --include-baseline flags

--stddev keeps track of standard deviations when averaging across
multiple runs.  These can be used (with a bit of creative text file
munging) to make gnuplot graphs with error bars.

--include-baseline is for LaTeX tables where we want to include the
baseline column in addition to the comparison columns.

8 years agofix build: add -package old-time
Simon Marlow [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 12:36:59 +0000 (13:36 +0100)] 
fix build: add -package old-time

8 years agoreplace time with $(TIME)
Simon Marlow [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 09:10:08 +0000 (10:10 +0100)] 
replace time with $(TIME)

8 years agoaverage GC work, and fix a regex
Simon Marlow [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 09:08:21 +0000 (10:08 +0100)] 
average GC work, and fix a regex

8 years agogenerate results for GC counts
Simon Marlow [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 09:07:50 +0000 (10:07 +0100)] 
generate results for GC counts

8 years agocollect GC counts
Simon Marlow [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 09:07:24 +0000 (10:07 +0100)] 
collect GC counts

8 years agocompute means of total-heap-size and allocations
Simon Marlow [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 09:06:33 +0000 (10:06 +0100)] 
compute means of total-heap-size and allocations