Mention symlink situation on Git for Windows in README.md
authorSebastian Graf <sgraf1337@gmail.com>
Fri, 11 Jan 2019 09:48:07 +0000 (04:48 -0500)
committerSebastian Graf <sgraf1337@gmail.com>
Wed, 16 Jan 2019 09:33:14 +0000 (04:33 -0500)
README.md

index 629cb4b..3e215e4 100644 (file)
--- a/README.md
+++ b/README.md
@@ -21,6 +21,19 @@ system GHC:
 
 ## Using
 
+<details>
+  <summary>Git symlink support for Windows machines</summary>
+  
+  NoFib uses a few symlinks here and there to share code between benchmarks.
+  Git for Windows has symlinks support for some time now, but
+  [it may not be enabled by default](https://stackoverflow.com/a/42137273/388010).
+  You will notice strange `make boot` failures if it's not enabled for you.
+  
+  Make sure you follow the instructions in the link to enable symlink support,
+  possibly as simple as through `git config core.symlinks true` or cloning with
+  `git clone -c core.symlinks=true <URL>`.
+</details>
+
 Then, to run the tests, execute:
 
 ```