Mention #15050 in the release notes for 8.8.1
authorJoachim Breitner <mail@joachim-breitner.de>
Mon, 6 Aug 2018 13:58:27 +0000 (09:58 -0400)
committerJoachim Breitner <mail@joachim-breitner.de>
Mon, 6 Aug 2018 14:11:37 +0000 (10:11 -0400)
docs/users_guide/8.8.1-notes.rst

index f77c50e..de5f978 100644 (file)
@@ -22,6 +22,10 @@ Full details
 Language
 ~~~~~~~
 
+- :extension:`ScopedTypeVariables`: The type variable that a type signature on
+  a pattern can bring into scope can now stand for arbitrary types. Previously,
+  they could only stand in for other type variables, but this restriction was deemed
+  unnecessary in `GHC proposal #29 <https://github.com/ghc-proposals/ghc-proposals/blob/master/proposals/0029-scoped-type-variables-types.rst>`__. Also see :ghc-ticket:`15050`.
 
 Compiler
 ~~~~~~~