hadrian/ghci.sh: Enable building in parallel
authorMatthew Pickering <matthewtpickering@gmail.com>
Thu, 19 Sep 2019 09:46:09 +0000 (10:46 +0100)
committerMarge Bot <ben+marge-bot@smart-cactus.org>
Fri, 20 Sep 2019 09:15:52 +0000 (05:15 -0400)
hadrian/README.md
hadrian/ghci.sh

index 2a0ffaf..bc640cd 100644 (file)
@@ -183,6 +183,14 @@ which will take 1-2 minutes. Loading GHC into GHCi itself takes about 30 seconds
 reloads after that take in the region of 1-5 seconds depending on which modules
 need to be recompiled.
 
+You can further speed up the script by passing `-j` as an argument. This will
+have the effect of passing `-j` to both hadrian and ghci so they will both
+build in parallel.
+
+```
+./hadrian/ghci.sh -j8
+```
+
 #### Testing
 
 To run GHC testsuite, use `build test`. See
index 90727b2..e296efa 100755 (executable)
@@ -3,4 +3,4 @@
 set -e
 
 GHC_FLAGS=$(TERM=dumb CABFLAGS=-v0 "hadrian/build.cabal.sh" tool-args -q --build-root=.hadrian_ghci --flavour=ghc-in-ghci "$@")
-ghci $GHC_FLAGS -fno-code -fwrite-interface -hidir=.hadrian_ghci/interface -O0 ghc/Main.hs
+ghci $GHC_FLAGS "$@" -fno-code -fwrite-interface -hidir=.hadrian_ghci/interface -O0 ghc/Main.hs +RTS -A128m