configure: Fail when bootstrapping with GHC 8.2.1
authorBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Sun, 17 Jun 2018 13:54:18 +0000 (09:54 -0400)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Sun, 17 Jun 2018 14:00:57 +0000 (10:00 -0400)
See #15281

configure.ac

index 2e6e644..09889ab 100644 (file)
@@ -132,6 +132,11 @@ AC_ARG_VAR(CC_STAGE0, [C compiler command (bootstrap)])
 if test "$WithGhc" != ""; then
   FPTOOLS_GHC_VERSION([GhcVersion], [GhcMajVersion], [GhcMinVersion], [GhcPatchLevel])dnl
 
+  # See #15281
+  if test "$GhcMajVersion" = "8" && test "$GhcMinVersion" = "2" && test "$GhcPatchLevel" = "1"; then
+     AC_MSG_ERROR([GHC 8.2.1 is known to be buggy and cannot bootstrap this GHC release (See Trac 15281); please use GHC 8.2.2 or later.])
+  fi
+
   if test "$GhcMajVersion" = "unknown" || test "$GhcMinVersion" = "unknown"; then
      AC_MSG_ERROR([Cannot determine the version of $WithGhc.  Is it really GHC?])
   fi