Revision to release notes for the new Typeable.
authorRichard Eisenberg <eir@cis.upenn.edu>
Mon, 9 Sep 2013 18:20:13 +0000 (14:20 -0400)
committerRichard Eisenberg <eir@cis.upenn.edu>
Mon, 9 Sep 2013 20:10:47 +0000 (16:10 -0400)
docs/users_guide/7.8.1-notes.xml

index 15bf82b..e62082a 100644 (file)
 
         <listitem>
             <para>
-                TODO: mention new <literal>Typeable</literal> and
-                <literal>AutoDeriveTypeable</literal>
+                <literal>Typeable</literal> is now poly-kinded, making
+                <literal>Typeable1</literal>, <literal>Typeable2</literal>,
+                etc., obsolete, deprecated, and relegated to
+                <literal>Data.OldTypeable</literal>. Furthermore, user-written
+                instances of <literal>Typeable</literal> are now disallowed:
+                use <literal>deriving</literal> or the new extension
+                <literal>-XAutoDeriveTypeable</literal>, which will create
+                <literal>Typeable</literal> instances for every datatype
+                declared in the module.
            </para>
        </listitem>
    </itemizedlist>