Generalise type of recently added System.Exit.die
authorHerbert Valerio Riedel <hvr@gnu.org>
Mon, 21 Apr 2014 18:29:15 +0000 (20:29 +0200)
committerHerbert Valerio Riedel <hvr@gnu.org>
Mon, 21 Apr 2014 18:35:56 +0000 (20:35 +0200)
This is a follow-up to 77ea2eb0ab36d1a (re #9016) which added `die` with a
return type of `IO ()` even though all other functions in System.Exit have
the more general return type `IO a`. It is assumed this was an oversight in
the original proposal.

Acked-by: Edward Kmett <ekmett@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Herbert Valerio Riedel <hvr@gnu.org>
libraries/base/System/Exit.hs

index 4f6eba6..932cbfb 100644 (file)
@@ -79,5 +79,5 @@ exitSuccess = exitWith ExitSuccess
 -- | Write given error message to `stderr` and terminate with `exitFailure`.
 --
 -- /Since: 4.7.1.0/
-die :: String -> IO ()
+die :: String -> IO a
 die err = hPutStrLn stderr err >> exitFailure