Add some more comments to UsageFile.
authorAustin Seipp <aseipp@pobox.com>
Thu, 22 Aug 2013 22:32:27 +0000 (17:32 -0500)
committerAustin Seipp <aseipp@pobox.com>
Thu, 22 Aug 2013 22:33:01 +0000 (17:33 -0500)
This brings them up to date with the changes in #8144.

Signed-off-by: Austin Seipp <aseipp@pobox.com>
compiler/main/HscTypes.lhs

index a65437e..2603770 100644 (file)
@@ -1794,10 +1794,17 @@ data Usage
         usg_safe :: IsSafeImport
             -- ^ Was this module imported as a safe import
     }                                           -- ^ Module from the current package
+  -- | A file upon which the module depends, e.g. a CPP #include, or using TH's
+  -- 'addDependentFile'
   | UsageFile {
         usg_file_path  :: FilePath,
+        -- ^ External file dependency. From a CPP #include or TH
+        -- addDependentFile. Should be absolute.
         usg_file_hash  :: Fingerprint
-        -- ^ External file dependency. From a CPP #include or TH addDependentFile. Should be absolute.
+        -- ^ 'Fingerprint' of the file contents. We don't consider
+        -- things like modification timestamps here, because there's
+        -- no reason to recompile if the actual contents don't change.
+        -- This previously lead to odd recompilation behaviors; see #8114
   }
     deriving( Eq )
         -- The export list field is (Just v) if we depend on the export list: