Added bullet in release notes about roles.
authorRichard Eisenberg <eir@cis.upenn.edu>
Tue, 20 Aug 2013 18:05:29 +0000 (14:05 -0400)
committerRichard Eisenberg <eir@cis.upenn.edu>
Tue, 20 Aug 2013 18:14:52 +0000 (14:14 -0400)
docs/users_guide/7.8.1-notes.xml

index 46c6fa4..5d8f077 100644 (file)
            </para>
        </listitem>
 
+       <listitem>
+           <para>
+                Use of the <literal>GeneralizedNewtypeDeriving</literal>
+                extension is now subject to <emphasis>role checking</emphasis>,
+                to ensure type safety of the derived instances. As this change
+                increases the type safety of GHC, it is possible that some code
+                that previously compiled will no longer work.
+
+                TODO FIXME: reference.
+           </para>
+       </listitem>
 
         <listitem>
             <para>