GHC doesn't have a way to ask for user-package-db, so Cabal reimplemented it.
authorEdward Z. Yang <ezyang@cs.stanford.edu>
Wed, 16 Dec 2015 18:39:12 +0000 (10:39 -0800)
committerEdward Z. Yang <ezyang@cs.stanford.edu>
Thu, 17 Dec 2015 00:41:49 +0000 (16:41 -0800)
Signed-off-by: Edward Z. Yang <ezyang@cs.stanford.edu>
Test Plan: docs only

Reviewers: austin, bgamari

Subscribers: thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D1644

compiler/main/DynFlags.hs
compiler/main/Packages.hs

index 5b16bd6..e443926 100644 (file)
@@ -973,6 +973,8 @@ versionedAppDir :: DynFlags -> IO FilePath
 versionedAppDir dflags = do
   appdir <- getAppUserDataDirectory (programName dflags)
   return $ appdir </> (TARGET_ARCH ++ '-':TARGET_OS ++ '-':projectVersion dflags)
+  -- NB: This functionality is reimplemented in Cabal, so if you
+  -- change it, be sure to update Cabal.
 
 -- | The target code type of the compilation (if any).
 --
index 8d0f2a6..a26b275 100644 (file)
@@ -378,6 +378,9 @@ getPackageConfRefs dflags = do
 
 resolvePackageConfig :: DynFlags -> PkgConfRef -> IO (Maybe FilePath)
 resolvePackageConfig dflags GlobalPkgConf = return $ Just (systemPackageConfig dflags)
+-- NB: This logic is reimplemented in Cabal, so if you change it,
+-- make sure you update Cabal.  (Or, better yet, dump it in the
+-- compiler info so Cabal can use the info.)
 resolvePackageConfig dflags UserPkgConf = handleIO (\_ -> return Nothing) $ do
   dir <- versionedAppDir dflags
   let pkgconf = dir </> "package.conf.d"