Suggest -H to improve GC productivity, fixes #10474.
authorEdward Z. Yang <ezyang@cs.stanford.edu>
Tue, 2 Jun 2015 18:07:04 +0000 (11:07 -0700)
committerEdward Z. Yang <ezyang@cs.stanford.edu>
Tue, 2 Jun 2015 22:20:56 +0000 (15:20 -0700)
Signed-off-by: Edward Z. Yang <ezyang@cs.stanford.edu>
Test Plan: none

Reviewers: rwbarton, austin

Subscribers: bgamari, thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D937

GHC Trac Issues: #10474

docs/users_guide/sooner.xml

index 68bcc61..41d04dd 100644 (file)
@@ -459,11 +459,15 @@ f (Wibble x y)  # ugly, and proud of it
           option</primary></indexterm> RTS option) indicate that it's
           doing lots of garbage-collection (say, more than 20&percnt;
           of execution time), more memory might help&mdash;with the
-          <option>-M&lt;size&gt;</option><indexterm><primary>-M&lt;size&gt;
+          <option>-H&lt;size&gt;</option><indexterm><primary>-H&lt;size&gt;
           RTS option</primary></indexterm> or
           <option>-A&lt;size&gt;</option><indexterm><primary>-A&lt;size&gt;
           RTS option</primary></indexterm> RTS options (see <xref
-          linkend="rts-options-gc"/>).</para>
+          linkend="rts-options-gc"/>).  As a rule of thumb, try
+          setting <option>-H&lt;size&gt;</option> to the amount of memory
+          you're willing to let your process consume, or perhaps try passing
+          <option>-H</option> without any argument to let GHC calculate
+          a value based on the amount of live data.</para>
        </listitem>
       </varlistentry>
     </variablelist>