Documentation for FrontendResult
authorEdward Z. Yang <ezyang@cs.stanford.edu>
Tue, 6 Oct 2015 17:14:39 +0000 (10:14 -0700)
committerEdward Z. Yang <ezyang@cs.stanford.edu>
Tue, 6 Oct 2015 17:17:44 +0000 (10:17 -0700)
Signed-off-by: Edward Z. Yang <ezyang@cs.stanford.edu>
compiler/typecheck/TcRnTypes.hs

index 7f51c33..b5da234 100644 (file)
@@ -329,6 +329,14 @@ data DsMetaVal
 ************************************************************************
 -}
 
+-- | 'FrontendResult' describes the result of running the
+-- frontend of a Haskell module.  Usually, you'll get
+-- a 'FrontendTypecheck', since running the frontend involves
+-- typechecking a program, but for an hs-boot merge you'll
+-- just get a ModIface, since no actual typechecking occurred.
+--
+-- This data type really should be in HscTypes, but it needs
+-- to have a TcGblEnv which is only defined here.
 data FrontendResult
         = FrontendTypecheck TcGblEnv
         | FrontendMerge     ModIface