driver: pass '-fPIC' option to all CC invocations
authorSergei Trofimovich <siarheit@google.com>
Wed, 24 Jun 2015 21:10:47 +0000 (22:10 +0100)
committerSergei Trofimovich <siarheit@google.com>
Wed, 24 Jun 2015 21:34:48 +0000 (22:34 +0100)
Reported by mitchty:

  When porting ghc to alpine linux (rumors say they build
  all binaries as Position Independent Executables
  to leverage global ASLR) linker issued obscure errors:

Tiny example:
    $ echo 'main = print "hello"' > a.hs
    $ ghc -fforce-recomp a.hs -fPIC -dynamic -optl-pie -o a
        ld: /tmp/ghc2142_0/ghc2142_5.o: relocation R_X86_64_32 against `ZCMain_main_closure'
            can not be used when making a shared object; recompile with -fPIC
        /tmp/ghc2142_0/ghc2142_5.o: error adding symbols: Bad value
        collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status

There is two entry points in CC driver:
    'runPhase' (CC) and 'mkExtraObj'

'mkExtraObj' does not handle most of 'runPhase's complexity.
Ideally it should.

This patch only adds -fPIC propagation to 'mkExtraObj'.

Please merge to stable branch.

Signed-off-by: Sergei Trofimovich <siarheit@google.com>
compiler/main/DriverPipeline.hs

index 1a21202..e2cfd2a 100644 (file)
@@ -1623,12 +1623,14 @@ mkExtraObj dflags extn xs
       oFile <- newTempName dflags "o"
       writeFile cFile xs
       let rtsDetails = getPackageDetails dflags rtsPackageKey
+          pic_c_flags = picCCOpts dflags
       SysTools.runCc dflags
                      ([Option        "-c",
                        FileOption "" cFile,
                        Option        "-o",
                        FileOption "" oFile]
-                      ++ map (FileOption "-I") (includeDirs rtsDetails))
+                      ++ map (FileOption "-I") (includeDirs rtsDetails)
+                      ++ map Option pic_c_flags)
       return oFile
 
 -- When linking a binary, we need to create a C main() function that