Eventlog: Document the fact timestamps are nanoseconds
authorMatthew Pickering <matthewtpickering@gmail.com>
Wed, 29 May 2019 16:15:48 +0000 (17:15 +0100)
committerMarge Bot <ben+marge-bot@smart-cactus.org>
Fri, 31 May 2019 05:56:16 +0000 (01:56 -0400)
[skip ci]

docs/users_guide/runtime_control.rst

index 0048a51..c573576 100644 (file)
@@ -1095,6 +1095,10 @@ When the program is linked with the :ghc-flag:`-eventlog` option
     `ghc-events <http://hackage.haskell.org/package/ghc-events>`__
     package.
 
+    Each event is associated with a timestamp which is the number of
+    nanoseconds since the start of executation of the running program.
+    This is the elapsed time, not the CPU time.
+
 .. rts-flag:: -ol ⟨filename⟩
 
     :default: :file:`<program>.eventlog`