Hadrian: teach the RTS that PROFILING implies TRACING
authorAlp Mestanogullari <alpmestan@gmail.com>
Wed, 5 Jun 2019 22:40:32 +0000 (00:40 +0200)
committerMarge Bot <ben+marge-bot@smart-cactus.org>
Tue, 11 Jun 2019 22:42:30 +0000 (18:42 -0400)
As discussed in #16744, both the Make and Hadrian build systems
have special code to always pass -eventlog whenever -prof or -debug
are passed. However, there is some similar logic in the RTS itself only
for defining TRACING when the DEBUG macro is defined, but no such logic
is implemented to define TRACING when the PROFILING macro is defined.
This patch adds such a logic and therefore fixes #16744.

includes/rts/Config.h

index 5161dce..be26459 100644 (file)
 #define USING_LIBBFD 1
 #endif
 
-/* DEBUG implies TRACING and TICKY_TICKY  */
-#if defined(DEBUG)
+/* DEBUG and PROFILING both imply TRACING */
+#if defined(DEBUG) || defined(PROFILING)
 #if !defined(TRACING)
 #define TRACING
 #endif
+#endif
+
+/* DEBUG implies TICKY_TICKY */
+#if defined(DEBUG)
 #if !defined(TICKY_TICKY)
 #define TICKY_TICKY
 #endif