llvmGen: Pass -optlo flags last to opt
authorOleg Grenrus <oleg.grenrus@iki.fi>
Mon, 26 Mar 2018 00:13:18 +0000 (20:13 -0400)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Mon, 26 Mar 2018 00:58:10 +0000 (20:58 -0400)
LLVM, like GHC, processes flags in the order that they appear.
Consequently, we need to ensure the user-provided flags appear last so
they can override flags produced by GHC. See #14821.

Test Plan: `ghc -O2 -optlo-O2 -v3 $FILE` and ensure that `opt` and `llc`
are invoked with `-O2`.

Subscribers: rwbarton, thomie, carter

GHC Trac Issues: #14821

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D4421

compiler/main/SysTools/Tasks.hs

index 82560af..66cc1ec 100644 (file)
@@ -147,7 +147,9 @@ runLlvmOpt :: DynFlags -> [Option] -> IO ()
 runLlvmOpt dflags args = do
   let (p,args0) = pgm_lo dflags
       args1 = map Option (getOpts dflags opt_lo)
-  runSomething dflags "LLVM Optimiser" p (args0 ++ args1 ++ args)
+      -- We take care to pass -optlo flags (e.g. args0) last to ensure that the
+      -- user can override flags passed by GHC. See #14821.
+  runSomething dflags "LLVM Optimiser" p (args1 ++ args ++ args0)
 
 -- | Run the LLVM Compiler
 runLlvmLlc :: DynFlags -> [Option] -> IO ()