base: update comment to match the change from e134af01
authorAndrzej Rybczak <electricityispower@gmail.com>
Sat, 22 Apr 2017 00:11:35 +0000 (20:11 -0400)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Sat, 22 Apr 2017 00:19:09 +0000 (20:19 -0400)
Reviewers: austin, hvr, bgamari

Reviewed By: bgamari

Subscribers: rwbarton, thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D3484

libraries/base/GHC/IO/Handle/Lock.hsc

index ebb3ce4..b2c64c4 100644 (file)
@@ -127,9 +127,8 @@ lockImpl h ctx mode block = do
     -- We want to lock the whole file without looking up its size to be
     -- consistent with what flock does. According to documentation of LockFileEx
     -- "locking a region that goes beyond the current end-of-file position is
-    -- not an error", however some versions of Windows seem to have issues with
-    -- large regions and set ERROR_INVALID_LOCK_RANGE in such case for
-    -- mysterious reasons. Work around that by setting only low 32 bits.
+    -- not an error", hence we pass maximum value as the number of bytes to
+    -- lock.
     fix $ \retry -> c_LockFileEx wh flags 0 0xffffffff 0xffffffff ovrlpd >>= \case
       True  -> return True
       False -> getLastError >>= \err -> if