users-guide: Fill out release highlights
authorBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Wed, 19 Sep 2018 19:28:47 +0000 (15:28 -0400)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Wed, 19 Sep 2018 19:30:39 +0000 (15:30 -0400)
docs/users_guide/8.6.1-notes.rst

index 13fd354..2a54b41 100644 (file)
@@ -13,6 +13,17 @@ Highlights
 
 The highlights, since the 8.4.1 release, are:
 
+- Support for :extension:`QuantifiedConstraints`.
+
+- A new flexible deriving scheme, :extension:`DerivingVia`.
+
+- A new plugin mechanism and support for plugins to modify their effect on GHC's
+  recompilation checking logic.
+
+- :ref:`Valid hole fits <typed-hole-valid-hole-fits>` in error messages.
+
+- A number of syntactic language extensions.
+
 - Programs are no longer constrained by the Windows ``MAX_PATH`` file path
   length limit. The file path limit is now approximately 32,767 characters. Note
   that GHC itself is still somewhat limited due to GCC not supporting file
@@ -231,6 +242,8 @@ Template Haskell
 ``ghc`` library
 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
+- The ``Plugin`` record now has a several new fields for the new source plugins
+  and recompilation checking mechanisms.
 
 ``base`` library
 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
@@ -245,8 +258,6 @@ Template Haskell
 ``ghc-prim`` library
 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
--  Version number 0.5.2.1 (was 0.5.2.0)
-
 -  Added new ``addWordC#`` operation for unsigned addition with carry.
 
 Build system