Restore derived Eq instance for SrcLoc
authorRyanGlScott <ryan.gl.scott@gmail.com>
Tue, 9 Feb 2016 10:06:34 +0000 (11:06 +0100)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Tue, 9 Feb 2016 13:42:25 +0000 (14:42 +0100)
GHC 7.10.2 and 7.10.3 had a derived `Eq` instance for `SrcLoc`, but it
seems to have been removed (see
6740d70d95cb81cea3859ff847afc61ec439db4f) during GHC 8.0 development.

Reviewers: hvr, austin, gridaphobe, bgamari

Reviewed By: gridaphobe, bgamari

Subscribers: thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D1894

libraries/base/GHC/Stack/Types.hs
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/T5095.stderr

index fb92522..35dfcb0 100644 (file)
@@ -47,6 +47,7 @@ import cycle,
     which imports ‘Data.Maybe’ (libraries/base/Data/Maybe.hs)
 -}
 
+import GHC.Classes (Eq)
 import GHC.Types
 
 -- Make implicit dependency known to build system
@@ -205,4 +206,4 @@ data SrcLoc = SrcLoc
   , srcLocStartCol  :: Int
   , srcLocEndLine   :: Int
   , srcLocEndCol    :: Int
-  }
+  } deriving Eq
index c284cda..d5f86c0 100644 (file)
@@ -7,7 +7,7 @@ T5095.hs:9:9: error:
           -- Defined in ‘Data.Either’
         instance Eq Ordering -- Defined in ‘GHC.Classes’
         ...plus 24 others
-        ...plus 13 instance involving out-of-scope typess
+        ...plus 14 instance involving out-of-scope typess
         (use -fprint-potential-instances to see them all)
       (The choice depends on the instantiation of ‘a’
        To pick the first instance above, use IncoherentInstances