Fix EmptyCase documentation
authorCyd Parser <cydparser@gmail.com>
Mon, 7 Aug 2017 05:23:23 +0000 (22:23 -0700)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Mon, 7 Aug 2017 23:22:59 +0000 (19:22 -0400)
docs/users_guide/glasgow_exts.rst

index d50dd40..bc09402 100644 (file)
@@ -1701,8 +1701,8 @@ example, consider these two candidate definitions of ``absurd``:
 
 ::
 
-    data a :==: b where
-      Refl :: a :==: a
+    data a :~: b where
+      Refl :: a :~: a
 
     absurd :: True :~: False -> a
     absurd x = error "absurd"    -- (A)
@@ -1710,10 +1710,9 @@ example, consider these two candidate definitions of ``absurd``:
 
 We much prefer (B). Why? Because GHC can figure out that
 ``(True :~: False)`` is an empty type. So (B) has no partiality and GHC
-should be able to compile with :ghc-flag:`-Wincomplete-patterns`. (Though
-the pattern match checking is not yet clever enough to do that.) On the
-other hand (A) looks dangerous, and GHC doesn't check to make sure that,
-in fact, the function can never get called.
+is able to compile with :ghc-flag:`-Wincomplete-patterns` and
+:ghc-flag:`-Werror`. On the other hand (A) looks dangerous, and GHC doesn't
+check to make sure that, in fact, the function can never get called.
 
 .. _multi-way-if: