Update link to paper about demand analyser in user guide
authorMatthew Pickering <matthewtpickering@gmail.com>
Fri, 17 Mar 2017 00:28:26 +0000 (20:28 -0400)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Sun, 19 Mar 2017 18:27:11 +0000 (14:27 -0400)
Reviewers: austin, bgamari

Subscribers: rwbarton, thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D3354

docs/users_guide/using-optimisation.rst

index e56c473..8f7d6b8 100644 (file)
@@ -678,11 +678,8 @@ list.
 
     :default: on
 
 
     :default: on
 
-    Switch on the strictness analyser. There is a very
-    old paper about GHC's strictness analyser, `Measuring the
-    effectiveness of a simple strictness
-    analyser <http://research.microsoft.com/en-us/um/people/simonpj/papers/simple-strictnes-analyser.ps.gz>`__,
-    but the current one is quite a bit different.
+    Switch on the strictness analyser. The
+    implementation is described in the paper `Theory and Practice of Demand Analysis in Haskell`<https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/demand-jfp-draft.pdf>`__.
 
     The strictness analyser figures out when arguments and variables in
     a function can be treated 'strictly' (that is they are always
 
     The strictness analyser figures out when arguments and variables in
     a function can be treated 'strictly' (that is they are always