Parser: revert some error messages to what they were before 7.10
authorThomas Miedema <thomasmiedema@gmail.com>
Thu, 8 Oct 2015 01:36:54 +0000 (20:36 -0500)
committerAustin Seipp <austin@well-typed.com>
Thu, 8 Oct 2015 01:37:23 +0000 (20:37 -0500)
commite2b579e8d77357e8b36f57d15daead101586ac8e
tree83b1d7dfccaceaf27a8bfafd07473c70d326b8b3
parent69a6e4258786894578ffed2a1d907a74c52d779b
Parser: revert some error messages to what they were before 7.10

Among doing other things, Phab:D201 (bc2289e13d9586be087bd8136943dc35a0130c88)
tried to improve the error messages thrown by the parser. For example a missing
else clause now prints "parse error in if statement: else clause empty" instead
of "parse error (possibly incorrect indentation or mismatched brackets)".

Some error messages got much worse however (see tests), and the result seems to
be a net negative. Although not entirely satisfactory, this commits therefore
reverts those parser changes.

Reviewed By: austin

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D1309

GHC Trac Issues: #10498
compiler/parser/Parser.y
testsuite/tests/parser/should_fail/ParserNoLambdaCase.stderr
testsuite/tests/parser/should_fail/T10498a.hs [new file with mode: 0644]
testsuite/tests/parser/should_fail/T10498a.stderr [new file with mode: 0644]
testsuite/tests/parser/should_fail/T10498b.hs [new file with mode: 0644]
testsuite/tests/parser/should_fail/T10498b.stderr [new file with mode: 0644]
testsuite/tests/parser/should_fail/all.T
testsuite/tests/parser/should_fail/readFail020.stderr