Remove utterly bogus code
authorSimon Peyton Jones <simonpj@microsoft.com>
Mon, 27 Mar 2017 13:33:55 +0000 (14:33 +0100)
committerSimon Peyton Jones <simonpj@microsoft.com>
Mon, 27 Mar 2017 15:31:06 +0000 (16:31 +0100)
commitde4723fd6d97b285bb754d8b95531c86d34c4032
tree20bc8bb3ead955c04cb21cc6980ae0802c6b5039
parentfeca929b8f7a7dfe96d06c27d405ce331cdcdb41
Remove utterly bogus code

The commit 6746549772c5cc0ac66c0fce562f297f4d4b80a2
    Author: Richard Eisenberg <eir@cis.upenn.edu>
    Date:   Fri Dec 11 18:19:53 2015 -0500

    Add kind equalities to GHC.

added this entirely bogus code to Simplify.simplLam:

    env' | Coercion co <- arg
         = extendCvSubst env bndr co
         | otherwise
         = env

It's bogus because 'co' is an 'InCoercion', but a CvSubst should have
only OutCoercions in it.  Moreover, completeBind does the job nicely.

This led to an ASSERT failure in an experimental branch; but I have
not got a repro case that works on HEAD.  But still, the patch deletes
code and fixes a bug, so it must be good.

The only mystery is why Richard added it in the first place :-).
I hope I'm not missing anything.  But it validates fine.
compiler/simplCore/Simplify.hs