rts: Allow profile output path to be specified on RTS command line
authorBen Gamari <bgamari.foss@gmail.com>
Tue, 28 Feb 2017 14:31:06 +0000 (09:31 -0500)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Tue, 28 Feb 2017 15:56:11 +0000 (10:56 -0500)
commitdb2a667655506c43dd3c8260d29031bde55f1bee
tree2e0f1a77d29ebed8102a3bcd519dedaf5d4e7bfa
parentc686af5818686efb55cfd81ac104027c959d6277
rts: Allow profile output path to be specified on RTS command line

This introduces a RTS option, -po, which allows the user to override the stem
used to form the output file names of the heap profile and cost center summary.

It's a bit unclear to me whether this is really the interface we want.
Alternatively we could just allow the user to specify the `.hp` and `.prof` file
names separately. This would arguably be a bit more straightforward and would
allow the user to name JSON output with an appropriate `.json` suffix if they so
desired. However, this would come at the cost of taking more of the option
space, which is a somewhat precious commodity.

Test Plan: Validate, try using `-po` RTS option

Reviewers: simonmar, austin, erikd

Reviewed By: simonmar

Subscribers: thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D3182
docs/users_guide/profiling.rst
includes/rts/Flags.h
rts/Profiling.c
rts/RtsFlags.c