Improve error message for Typeable k (T k)
authorSimon Peyton Jones <simonpj@microsoft.com>
Fri, 26 Jun 2015 15:00:19 +0000 (16:00 +0100)
committerSimon Peyton Jones <simonpj@microsoft.com>
Fri, 26 Jun 2015 16:53:33 +0000 (17:53 +0100)
commitceb3c8448dfba23aa98a710f846304158c1c584b
tree18f397939bdf200877cc3189ddd15dfb3d30e9a8
parenta64a26f0a1a864522937caaf68687baf1a5f9bcb
Improve error message for Typeable k (T k)

GHC can't yest build a TypeRep for a type involving kind variables.
(We await kinds = types for that.)  But the error message was terrible,
as fixing #10524 reminded me.

This improves it a lot.
16 files changed:
compiler/typecheck/TcErrors.hs
testsuite/tests/annotations/should_fail/annfail08.stderr
testsuite/tests/deriving/should_fail/drvfail007.stderr
testsuite/tests/driver/T2182.stderr
testsuite/tests/ghci.debugger/scripts/break003.stderr
testsuite/tests/ghci/scripts/Defer02.stderr
testsuite/tests/ghci/scripts/T2182ghci.stderr
testsuite/tests/partial-sigs/should_fail/AnnotatedConstraint.stderr
testsuite/tests/rebindable/rebindable6.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/T2846b.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/T6022.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/T9858a.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/T9858b.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/T9999.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/TcStaticPointersFail02.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/tcfail046.stderr