Slighly improve infix con app pattern errors
authorÖmer Sinan Ağacan <omeragacan@gmail.com>
Wed, 14 Mar 2018 06:16:51 +0000 (09:16 +0300)
committerÖmer Sinan Ağacan <omeragacan@gmail.com>
Wed, 14 Mar 2018 06:17:11 +0000 (09:17 +0300)
commitcb6d8589c83247ec96d5faa82df3e93f419bbfe0
tree99b60cf2f7f03d9fc25040390a2f1d7b2b236d42
parent152055a19cf368439c8450040b68142f8e7d0346
Slighly improve infix con app pattern errors

Given this program:

    main = do
      f $ do
        a <- return 3
          c <- do
          return 5

GHC previously gave this error message:

    Main.hs:2:7: error:
        Parse error in pattern: do a <- return 3 c
        Possibly caused by a missing 'do'?
      |
    2 |   f $ do
      |       ^^...

What happened is GHC considered the whole `f $ do a <- return 3 c` as a
pattern. When parsed as an expression it becomes an infix application of
`($)`, and GHC checks left and right hand sides before checking if `($)`
is a valid infix constructor name, and shows the first error it got.

If instead we first check if the infix op is valid in pattern context,
the error message becomes much clearer:

    Main.hs:2:3: error:
        Parse error in pattern: f $ do a <- return 3 c
        Possibly caused by a missing 'do'?
      |
    2 |   f $ do
      |   ^^^^^^...

This may not entirely fix #11188 but I think it's an improvement.

Reviewers: bgamari

Reviewed By: bgamari

Subscribers: rwbarton, thomie, carter

GHC Trac Issues: #11188

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D4497
compiler/parser/RdrHsSyn.hs
testsuite/tests/parser/should_fail/InfixAppPatErr.hs [new file with mode: 0644]
testsuite/tests/parser/should_fail/InfixAppPatErr.stderr [new file with mode: 0644]
testsuite/tests/parser/should_fail/all.T