ghc generates more user-friendly error messages
authorMike Izbicki <mike@izbicki.me>
Thu, 20 Nov 2014 00:29:37 +0000 (18:29 -0600)
committerAustin Seipp <austin@well-typed.com>
Thu, 20 Nov 2014 01:49:37 +0000 (19:49 -0600)
commitbc2289e13d9586be087bd8136943dc35a0130c88
treea45489dbdba4380c4aa532599155f878e5cbaa43
parentd87fa343cd5d298c9fea96d65d05a20929ff97d0
ghc generates more user-friendly error messages

Test Plan: Compiled ghc fine.  Opened ghci and fed it invalid code.  It gave the improved error messages in response.

Reviewers: austin

Subscribers: thomie, simonpj, spacekitteh, rwbarton, simonmar, carter

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D201
13 files changed:
compiler/parser/Lexer.x
compiler/parser/Parser.y
compiler/typecheck/TcErrors.lhs
testsuite/tests/annotations/should_fail/annfail08.stderr
testsuite/tests/deriving/should_fail/drvfail007.stderr
testsuite/tests/ghci.debugger/scripts/break003.stderr
testsuite/tests/ghci/scripts/Defer02.stderr
testsuite/tests/mdo/should_fail/mdofail005.stderr
testsuite/tests/parser/should_fail/ParserNoLambdaCase.stderr
testsuite/tests/parser/should_fail/readFail020.stderr
testsuite/tests/parser/should_fail/readFail040.stderr
testsuite/tests/rebindable/rebindable6.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/T2846b.stderr