Improve documentation for warning options
authorNathan Collins <nathan.collins@gmail.com>
Fri, 19 Oct 2018 21:44:19 +0000 (14:44 -0700)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Mon, 29 Oct 2018 19:11:48 +0000 (15:11 -0400)
commitb8e30e40b08db3dd50e7a972a4969c8f8f784eaa
treefb2037306e9aa408a70394e12100f2401f36f2a0
parent503ddd6ede3e54748360f86ed744dcef0be71a28
Improve documentation for warning options

My main goal was to make it easy to discover how to reverse `-Werror`,
since `Wno-error` doesn't work, and the fact that `-Wwarn` negates
`-Werror` was only mentioned in the `-Wwarn` docs before.

Other changes:
- explain at the outset that some options control individual warnings
  while others control warning families.
- explain at the outset that `-Wno-<wflag>` can be used to reverse
  `-W<wflag>`. This is no mentioned in two places, but I don't think
  that's a bad thing.
docs/users_guide/using-warnings.rst