Reduce the size of string literals in binaries.
authorThijs Alkemade <me@thijsalkema.de>
Tue, 6 Dec 2016 22:12:17 +0000 (17:12 -0500)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Tue, 6 Dec 2016 23:44:43 +0000 (18:44 -0500)
commitb7e88ee0d87f41cf1d8aba62aa44d5bf0a7404ad
treea80d546ceee8179f8eca6f26840da6edb74ca51e
parenteafa06dce4aa815159ebba5a34d5137cf401ffbc
Reduce the size of string literals in binaries.

Removed the alignment for strings and mark then as cstring sections in
the generated asm so the linker can merge duplicate sections.

Reviewers: rwbarton, trofi, austin, trommler, simonmar, hvr, bgamari

Reviewed By: hvr, bgamari

Subscribers: simonpj, hvr, thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D1290

GHC Trac Issues: #9577
13 files changed:
compiler/cmm/CLabel.hs
compiler/cmm/Cmm.hs
compiler/cmm/CmmUtils.hs
compiler/cmm/PprCmmDecl.hs
compiler/llvmGen/LlvmCodeGen/Data.hs
compiler/nativeGen/PPC/Ppr.hs
compiler/nativeGen/PprBase.hs
compiler/nativeGen/SPARC/Ppr.hs
compiler/nativeGen/X86/Ppr.hs
testsuite/tests/codeGen/should_run/T9577.hs [new file with mode: 0644]
testsuite/tests/codeGen/should_run/T9577.stdout [new file with mode: 0644]
testsuite/tests/codeGen/should_run/T9577_A.hs [new file with mode: 0644]
testsuite/tests/codeGen/should_run/all.T