Tidy up partial-sig quantification
authorSimon Peyton Jones <simonpj@microsoft.com>
Mon, 9 May 2016 12:48:34 +0000 (13:48 +0100)
committerSimon Peyton Jones <simonpj@microsoft.com>
Tue, 10 May 2016 08:34:23 +0000 (09:34 +0100)
commit9dbf5f5c63f6ffde86c2faab60c97e97c77a27c3
tree969e0a3f58ecbe961aca6c83ebf2514f16881d84
parente1ff2b4950a02bc26b9ab36c9c589a8156e324bd
Tidy up partial-sig quantification

There's a messy bit of tcSimplifyInfer which concerns how
quantify when partial type signatures are involved. This
patch tidies it up a lot.

Notice that decideQuantification and quantify_tvs get
much simpler.  And previously the inferred type of a
function could be cluttered with phantom variables that
were relevant only to the error messgas.

See Note [Quantification and partial signatures].
compiler/typecheck/TcSimplify.hs