Fix GHCi on Arm (#10375).
authorErik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
Sun, 11 Oct 2015 05:48:11 +0000 (16:48 +1100)
committerErik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
Wed, 14 Oct 2015 22:19:35 +0000 (09:19 +1100)
commit933adc0f31164cb651d11ecfcfe612ac429f714f
treec49a8c05daee1987e93b30e36cda22609aefbdeb
parent775616174bf297c7f3d8dc35ae0e88aef381f7fa
Fix GHCi on Arm (#10375).

Arm has two instruction sets, Arm and Thumb, and an execution mode for each.
Executing Arm code in Thumb mode or vice-versa will likely result in an
Illegal instruction exception.

Furthermore, Haskell code compiled via LLVM was generating Arm instructions
while C code compiled via GCC was generating Thumb code by default. When
these two object code types were being linked by the system linker, all was
fine, because the system linker knows how to jump and call from one
instruction set to the other.

The first problem was with GHCi's object code loader which did not know
about Thumb vs Arm. When loading an object file `StgCRun` would jump
into the loaded object which could change the mode causing a crash after
it returned. This was fixed by forcing all C code to generate Arm
instructions by passing `-marm` to GCC.

The second problem was the `mkJumpToAddr` function which was generating
Thumb instructions. Changing that to generate Arm instructions instead
results in a working GHCi on Arm.

Test Plan: validate on x86_64 and arm

Reviewers: bgamari, austin, hvr

Subscribers: thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D1323

GHC Trac Issues: #10375
aclocal.m4
compiler/ghci/ByteCodeItbls.hs
compiler/llvmGen/LlvmCodeGen/Ppr.hs
rts/Linker.c