Fix the definition of cas() on x86 (#8219)
authorPatrick Palka <patrick@parcs.ath.cx>
Sat, 21 Sep 2013 17:27:13 +0000 (13:27 -0400)
committerPatrick Palka <patrick@parcs.ath.cx>
Mon, 23 Sep 2013 13:05:16 +0000 (09:05 -0400)
commit84dff71075b915938e2457f5bff2d127eac3b3cc
tree58dcfc031ee73dd07162aa0a6d61e8f9358ed50d
parent93a04b49326a03dd3154e619a3c5564d50768727
Fix the definition of cas() on x86 (#8219)

*p is both read and written to by the cmpxchg instruction, and therefore
should be given the '+' constraint modifier.

(In GCC's extended ASM language, '+' means that the operand is both read
and written to whereas '=' means that it is only written to.)

Otherwise, the compiler is allowed to rewrite something like

SpinLock lock;
initSpinLock(&lock);       /* sets lock = 1 */
ACQUIRE_SPIN_LOCK(&lock);

into

SpinLock lock;
ACQUIRE_SPIN_LOCK(&lock);

because according to the asm statement, the previous value of 'lock' is
not important.
includes/stg/SMP.h