Remove the GHCi debugger's panicking isUnliftedType check
authorRyan Scott <ryan.gl.scott@gmail.com>
Tue, 12 Mar 2019 14:06:38 +0000 (10:06 -0400)
committerMarge Bot <ben+marge-bot@smart-cactus.org>
Fri, 15 Mar 2019 13:59:30 +0000 (09:59 -0400)
commit8162eab27101cddb0c822347300640f07110379a
treeb0d809350dddfddbd3cc6837e175bf6dcb53fda0
parent10a971208dcd537742fe4e15b2713eb0f3052a3a
Remove the GHCi debugger's panicking isUnliftedType check

The GHCi debugger has never been that robust in the face of
higher-rank types, or even types that are _interally_ higher-rank,
such as the types of many class methods (e.g., `fmap`). In GHC 8.2,
however, things became even worse, as the debugger would start to
_panic_ when a user tries passing the name of a higher-rank thing
to `:print`. This all ties back to a strange `isUnliftedType` check
in `Debugger` that was mysteriously added 11 years ago
(in commit 4d71f5ee6dbbfedb4a55767e4375f4c0aadf70bb) with no
explanation whatsoever.

After some experimentation, no one is quite sure what this
`isUnliftedType` check is actually accomplishing. The test suite
still passes if it's removed, and I am unable to observe any
differences in debugger before even with data types that _do_ have
fields of unlifted types (e.g., `data T = MkT Int#`). Given that
this is actively causing problems (see #14828), the prudent thing
to do seems to be just removing this `isUnliftedType` check, and
waiting to see if anyone shouts about it. This patch accomplishes
just that.

Note that this patch fix the underlying issues behind #14828, as the
debugger will still print unhelpful info if you try this:

```
λ> f :: (forall a. a -> a) -> b -> b; f g x = g x
λ> :print f
f = (_t1::t1)
```

But fixing this will require much more work, so let's start with the
simple stuff for now.
compiler/ghci/Debugger.hs
testsuite/tests/ghci/scripts/T14828.script
testsuite/tests/ghci/scripts/T14828.stdout [new file with mode: 0644]
testsuite/tests/ghci/scripts/all.T