Refactor the kind-checking of tyvar binders
authorSimon Peyton Jones <simonpj@microsoft.com>
Mon, 25 Jun 2018 12:20:59 +0000 (13:20 +0100)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Wed, 27 Jun 2018 21:07:55 +0000 (17:07 -0400)
commit7e19610c925c45ade589b573a7e1c247cd8265ef
tree6dcfe58370982e9263e5fbd82dcb335d744944a0
parent61adfbe6f9926daf06031b7da2522f73addf75dc
Refactor the kind-checking of tyvar binders

The refactoring here is driven by the ghastly mess described in
comment:24 of Trac #1520.  The overall goal is to simplify the
kind-checking of typev-variable binders, and in particular to narrow
the use of the "in-scope tyvar binder" stuff,
which is needed only for associated types: see the new
Note [Kind-checking tyvar binders for associated types] in TcHsType.

Now

* The "in-scope tyvar binder" stuff is done only in
     - kcLHsQTyVars, which is used for the LHsQTyVars of a
       data/newtype, or type family declaration.

     - tcFamTyPats, which is used for associated family instances;
       it now calls tcImplicitQTKBndrs, which in turn usese
       newFlexiKindedQTyVar

* tcExpicitTKBndrs (which is used only for function signatures,
  data con signatures, pattern synonym signatures, and expression
  type signatures) now does not go via the "in-scope tyvar binder"
  stuff at all.

While I'm still not happy with all this code, the code is generally
simpler, and I think this is a useful step forward. It does cure
the problem too.

(It's hard to trigger the problem in vanilla Haskell code, because
the renamer would normally use different names for nested binders,
so I can't offer a test.)

(cherry picked from commit 9fc40c733ba8822a04bd92883801b214dee099ca)
compiler/hsSyn/HsDecls.hs
compiler/typecheck/TcHsType.hs
compiler/typecheck/TcTyClsDecls.hs