Check that libs found by GCC aren't folders
authorAlec Theriault <alec.theriault@gmail.com>
Mon, 7 Jan 2019 20:59:36 +0000 (12:59 -0800)
committerAlec Theriault <alec.theriault@gmail.com>
Mon, 7 Jan 2019 21:58:59 +0000 (13:58 -0800)
commit6b5ec08a4a64525bae87a8c2202688ffc6f86aa8
treed5c19f8bbb7f117c1fd7c7e4eb075797a6d37f45
parent1c9dab22f010352884d6f7e5b62251bc4b0cca7c
Check that libs found by GCC aren't folders

Summary:
We use 'gcc -B<base-location> --print-file-name mylib.a' as a way of
checking if 'gcc' can discover 'mylib.a' at the given location. However,
this can break down if there is a folder caller 'mylib.a' that 'gcc' can
discover. We can guard against this by explicitly checking that the path
returned by 'gcc' is a file.

This may seem like a far-fetched scenario, but since
3d17f1f10fc00540ac052f2fd03182906aa47e35, we look for libraries without
any prefix or suffix (ie. 'extra-libraries: softfloat', we look for just
'softfloat' as well as 'softloat.a', 'softfloat.dll.a', etc.) which means
that there might actusally be a folder of that name in one of the base
locations.

Reviewers: Phyx, bgamari, hvr, angerman

Reviewed By: Phyx, angerman

Subscribers: angerman, rwbarton, carter

GHC Trac Issues: #16063

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D5462
compiler/ghci/Linker.hs