Dont call unsafeGlobalDynFlags if it is not set
authorThomas Miedema <thomasmiedema@gmail.com>
Mon, 16 Mar 2015 17:36:59 +0000 (18:36 +0100)
committerThomas Miedema <thomasmiedema@gmail.com>
Mon, 16 Mar 2015 17:38:58 +0000 (18:38 +0100)
commit5166ee94e439375a4e6acb80f88ec6ee65476bbd
treef79b90d82c995faea5e03c66ae2f19920b90f52f
parentbeee618c4ab8f725acd4dce3ef8a0d4ce84bb6ec
Dont call unsafeGlobalDynFlags if it is not set

Parsing of static and mode flags happens before any session is started,
i.e., before the first call to 'GHC.withGhc'. Therefore, to report
errors for invalid usage of these two types of flags, we can not call
any function that needs DynFlags, as there are no DynFlags available yet
(unsafeGlobalDynFlags is not set either). So we always print "on the
commandline" as the location, which is true except for Api users, which
is probably ok.

When reporting errors for invalid usage of dynamic flags we /can/ make
use of DynFlags, and we do so explicitly in
DynFlags.parseDynamicFlagsFull.

Before, we called unsafeGlobalDynFlags when an invalid (combination of)
flag(s) was given on the commandline, resulting in panics (#9963). This
regression was introduced in 1d6124de.

Also rename showSDocSimple to showSDocUnsafe, to hopefully prevent this
from happening again.

Reviewed By: austin

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D730

GHC Trac Issues: #9963
compiler/basicTypes/SrcLoc.hs
compiler/main/CmdLineParser.hs
compiler/main/DynFlags.hs
compiler/main/StaticFlags.hs
compiler/typecheck/TcGenDeriv.hs
compiler/utils/Outputable.hs
ghc/Main.hs
testsuite/tests/driver/T9963.stderr [new file with mode: 0644]
testsuite/tests/driver/all.T