Abort when binutils ld is used with dynamic linking on ARM
authorBen Gamari <bgamari.foss@gmail.com>
Sat, 25 Jan 2014 18:02:36 +0000 (13:02 -0500)
committerAustin Seipp <austin@well-typed.com>
Tue, 28 Jan 2014 03:57:51 +0000 (21:57 -0600)
commit4ade9627608ea0a88450506222bb9afbbcff4294
tree18dbd5f7e7b754365059ad4a406c5d94b1297864
parent08f8efb84d51e53792ded036e172826686fc806b
Abort when binutils ld is used with dynamic linking on ARM

The binutils linker on ARM emits unnecessary R_ARM_COPY relocations
which breaks tables-next-to-code in dynamically linked modules. This
check should be more selective but there is currently no released
version where this bug is fixed.  See
https://sourceware.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=16177 and
https://ghc.haskell.org/trac/ghc/ticket/4210#comment:29 for details.

Signed-off-by: Austin Seipp <austin@well-typed.com>
compiler/main/GHC.hs
docs/users_guide/7.8.1-notes.xml