Do version specific detection of LLVM tools (#10170).
authorErik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
Fri, 20 Mar 2015 01:16:23 +0000 (12:16 +1100)
committerErik de Castro Lopo <erikd@mega-nerd.com>
Mon, 23 Mar 2015 21:53:46 +0000 (08:53 +1100)
commit42448e3757f25735a0a5b5e2b7ee456b5e8b0039
tree1694578206b2b111472aa6dd843a6d0792c6cfd9
parentaef4de4765187ba85b8a08de83c245c6bc8e372e
Do version specific detection of LLVM tools (#10170).

The LLVM developers seem to make breaking changes in the LLVM IR
language between major releases. As a consumer of the LLVM tools
GHC now needs to be locked more tightly to a single version of
the LLVM tools.

GHC HEAD currently only supports LLVM version 3.6. This commit
changes the configure script to look for `llc-3.6` and `opt-3.6`
before looking for `llc` and `opt`. If the former are not found,
but the later are, check that they actually are version 3.6.

At the same time, when detecting known problems with the LLVM
tools (ie #9439) test for it using the versions of the LLVM tools
retrieved from the bootstrap compiler's settings file.

Test Plan: Manual testing.

Reviewers: thomie, rwbarton, nomeata, austin

Subscribers: thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D745

GHC Trac Issues: #10170
aclocal.m4
configure.ac