Re-export Word from Prelude (re #9531)
authorHerbert Valerio Riedel <hvr@gnu.org>
Sun, 31 Aug 2014 09:40:50 +0000 (11:40 +0200)
committerHerbert Valerio Riedel <hvr@gnu.org>
Sun, 31 Aug 2014 10:25:16 +0000 (12:25 +0200)
commit393b820233caa00e428affc28e090b496d181664
tree3cd003a4d12d3c0d6145a180b25078807970472f
parentb760cc59b26a407dcd5715920c64f53513e65f14
Re-export Word from Prelude (re #9531)

The original proposal text can be found at

  http://www.haskell.org/pipermail/libraries/2014-August/023491.html

The proposal passed with a clear majority, and was additionally
confirmed by the core libraries committee.

*Compatibility Note*

Only code that imports `Data.Word` for the sole purpose of using `Word`
*and* requires to be `-Werror`-clean (due to `-fwarn-unused-imports`)
is affected by this change.

In order to write warning-free forward/backward compatible against `base`,
a variant of the following CPP-based snippet can be used:

  -- Starting with base>4.7.0 or GHC>7.8 Prelude re-exports 'Word'
  -- The following is needed, if 'Word' is the *only* entity needed from Data.Word
  #ifdef MIN_VERSION_base
  # if !MIN_VERSION_base(4,7,1)
  import Data.Word (Word)
  # endif
  -- no cabal_macros.h -- fallback to __GLASGOW_HASKELL__
  #elif __GLASGOW_HASKELL__ < 709
  import Data.Word (Word)
  #endif

This also updates the haddock submodule in order to avoid a compile warning
compiler/coreSyn/MkCore.lhs
libraries/base/Prelude.hs
libraries/base/changelog.md
mk/validate-settings.mk
testsuite/tests/lib/integer/IntegerConversionRules.hs
testsuite/tests/numeric/should_run/T7014.hs
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/T5095.stderr
utils/haddock