config.mk.in: Disable stripping by default on ARM
authorBen Gamari <bgamari.foss@gmail.com>
Wed, 23 Dec 2015 22:51:02 +0000 (23:51 +0100)
committerBen Gamari <ben@smart-cactus.org>
Wed, 23 Dec 2015 22:52:34 +0000 (23:52 +0100)
commit353e97a37da98ccd174429fad348efbf01ace96c
treea7313e5e2ec3e57e93e88ccae72deb0e0de4af2a
parent32215996528779f71a636350a36c01a8b3ccb1bf
config.mk.in: Disable stripping by default on ARM

The Cortex A8 hardware apparently has a bug which ld.gold will try to
correct; however in order to do so it must have unstripped executables
lest we see warnings of the form (see #10376, #10464),

    /usr/bin/ld.gold: warning: cannot scan executable section 1 of ...
    for Cortex-A8 erratum because it has no mapping symbols.

Consequently we disabling stripping by default on this architecture.

A bit more discussion about this issue can be found in this [Android
issue](http://code.google.com/p/android/issues/detail?id=40794).

Test Plan: Try validating on ARM

Reviewers: erikd, austin, thomie

Reviewed By: austin, thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D1599

GHC Trac Issues: #10376, #10464
mk/config.mk.in