Make distribution tarball compression format configurable
authorHerbert Valerio Riedel <hvr@gnu.org>
Wed, 26 Feb 2014 21:20:52 +0000 (22:20 +0100)
committerHerbert Valerio Riedel <hvr@gnu.org>
Wed, 26 Feb 2014 21:26:25 +0000 (22:26 +0100)
commit32f41c79960ffc1d04c4573acb37756109d279a5
tree77a78d7e0eafe3057f49a1ace4f39fb7800fb1eb
parent98b6756b09194352aa2ccfbb624992150a7a3520
Make distribution tarball compression format configurable

By default, bzip2 compression is selected (which is what has been used
till now). Additionally, by setting the TAR_COMP make variable to one of
the values "bzip2", "gzip", or "xz", an explicit compression format can
be requested for the distribution tarballs. For instance, invoking

  make TAR_COMP=xz sdist-ghc

will result in a tarball `./sdistprep/ghc-7.9.20140226-src.tar.xz`

Signed-off-by: Herbert Valerio Riedel <hvr@gnu.org>
bindisttest/ghc.mk
ghc.mk
mk/config.mk.in