Make worker-wrapper optional
authorChristiaan Baaij <christiaan.baaij@gmail.com>
Tue, 27 Oct 2015 15:21:27 +0000 (10:21 -0500)
committerAustin Seipp <austin@well-typed.com>
Tue, 27 Oct 2015 17:26:29 +0000 (12:26 -0500)
commit31704adc82c3a1e48ac05c51f02933fd996b642a
tree69edfb9129a1f65a4ae2c01a53fd280aba0503fe
parent166c5972fc7269b6a7802cd68ab04d86affbb879
Make worker-wrapper optional

Add -fworker-wrapper flag which enables the worker-wrapper transformation. It
is implied by -O.

The expected users of this flag, which includes myself, are GHC API users.  In
my Haskell-to-Hardware compiler, which uses the GHC API, I have seen no
benifits of the worker-wrapper transformation. It does however induce longer
compilation times.

Further discussion can be seen here:
https://mail.haskell.org/pipermail/ghc-devs/2015-October/010096.html

Reviewed By: austin

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D1372

GHC Trac Issues: #11020
compiler/main/DynFlags.hs
compiler/simplCore/SimplCore.hs
docs/users_guide/7.12.1-notes.rst
utils/mkUserGuidePart/Options/Optimizations.hs