Lexer: delete dead code for binary character literals
authorThomas Miedema <thomasmiedema@gmail.com>
Tue, 29 Sep 2015 15:54:32 +0000 (17:54 +0200)
committerThomas Miedema <thomasmiedema@gmail.com>
Wed, 30 Sep 2015 19:49:16 +0000 (21:49 +0200)
commit2eddcd9b65b7baf70dd3cc5a0b02cf0076c75560
tree7abf7457b8d43c57010f36f3f4de9a4e8c69bcd0
parent78053f449d47a90c977ec3a893524f2cdb5d33f9
Lexer: delete dead code for binary character literals

The Haskell 2010 report chapter 2.6 (Characters and String Literals)
says:

  "Numeric escapes such as \137 are used to designate the character with
  decimal representation 137; octal (e.g. \o137) and hexadecimal (e.g.
  \x37) representations are also allowed."

Commit 1c0b5fdc9f2b6ea8166cc565383d4cd20432343c added syntax for writing
character literals using binary notation (e.g. '\b100100'). But this
code can never be reached, because '\b' already represents "backspace".

Turn on -fwarn-overlapping-patterns to catch such bugs in the future.

Reviewed by: hvr

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D1291
compiler/parser/Lexer.x