Improve the error messages for class instance errors
authorSimon Peyton Jones <simonpj@microsoft.com>
Wed, 2 Sep 2015 12:05:36 +0000 (14:05 +0200)
committerBen Gamari <bgamari.foss@gmail.com>
Wed, 2 Sep 2015 13:11:51 +0000 (09:11 -0400)
commit28ac9d31bcabeb44496c0e1750563f3091c62da9
tree427a29e1beca0ee3fee7a1bc825bb5fa2fa03dae
parentc8f623e305ec0a51ac2406a1f754d244e05b96f5
Improve the error messages for class instance errors

Summary: See Note [Displaying potential instances].

Reviewers: austin

Subscribers: KaneTW, thomie

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D1176
25 files changed:
compiler/main/DynFlags.hs
compiler/typecheck/TcErrors.hs
docs/users_guide/flags.xml
docs/users_guide/using.xml
testsuite/tests/annotations/should_fail/annfail10.stderr
testsuite/tests/ghci.debugger/scripts/break006.stderr
testsuite/tests/ghci.debugger/scripts/print019.stderr
testsuite/tests/ghci/scripts/Defer02.stderr
testsuite/tests/indexed-types/should_fail/T4485.stderr
testsuite/tests/overloadedlists/should_fail/overloadedlistsfail01.stderr
testsuite/tests/quotes/TH_localname.stderr
testsuite/tests/rebindable/rebindable6.stderr
testsuite/tests/rename/should_fail/mc14.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_compile/holes2.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/T4921.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/T5095.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/T5858.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/T7857.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/tcfail008.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/tcfail040.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/tcfail043.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/tcfail072.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/tcfail128.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/tcfail133.stderr
testsuite/tests/typecheck/should_fail/tcfail181.stderr