Build system: cleanup utils/ghc-pkg/ghc.mk
authorThomas Miedema <thomasmiedema@gmail.com>
Thu, 9 Jul 2015 23:02:31 +0000 (01:02 +0200)
committerThomas Miedema <thomasmiedema@gmail.com>
Mon, 7 Sep 2015 09:58:31 +0000 (11:58 +0200)
commit1abbacd606c7fbbb5a948cf9fa3817f5ed20c37a
tree6b23e21297a35c9a62c31bdd240a449a6cda3ef5
parentb40e55954ecdab650d35349cbb93e53df952310e
Build system: cleanup utils/ghc-pkg/ghc.mk

There used to be a lot of custom make code to build ghc-pkg with the
stage0 compiler. Commit ac5a314504554ddef0e855ef9e2fcf51e961f4a6
thankfully cleaned this up, by using the build settings from the
ghc-pkg.cabal file.

This commit removes some remains of the old way of installing ghc-pkg
when Stage1Only=YES. Notably, we called both `build-prog` as
`shell-wrapper`. This is surely wrong, because `build-prog` already
calls `shell-wrapper`. It isn't needed to set WANT_INSTALLED_WRAPPER
either; build-prog does that for us.

This prevents the following warnings when Stage1Only=YES:
  utils/ghc-pkg/ghc.mk:46: warning:
    overriding commands for target `install_utils/ghc-pkg_dist_wrapper'
  utils/ghc-pkg/ghc.mk:37: warning:
    ignoring old commands for target `install_utils/ghc-pkg_dist_wrapper'

Also add more comments and restructure a bit.

Reviewed by: austin

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D1063
utils/ghc-pkg/ghc.mk