Synchronise ghci-package version with ghc-package
authorHerbert Valerio Riedel <hvr@gnu.org>
Sun, 27 Dec 2015 08:03:44 +0000 (09:03 +0100)
committerHerbert Valerio Riedel <hvr@gnu.org>
Mon, 28 Dec 2015 09:23:37 +0000 (10:23 +0100)
commit01299ca83996710ec1572c952917157b1c2d139e
tree6840cf59bcc1b45baea77dfd33c3331336489c70
parent0054bcd42260d248e391ed01d6b3da4fefdad45c
Synchronise ghci-package version with ghc-package

In order to simplify the task, the version munging logic has
been radically simplified:

Previously, in cases where the version contained dates as version components,
the build-system would munge the version of the stage1 ghc package before
registering the `ghc` package.

However, this hack was already questionable at the time of its introduction
(c.f. 7b45c46cbabe1288ea87bd9b94c57e010ed17e60).
Simplifying the build-systems by avoiding such hacks may also help the
shaking-up-ghc effort.

So now we simply munge directly via the `.cabal` files, which gives a simpler
picture, as now every stage is munged the same. Munging is only active when
the first patch-level version component is a date. So stable snapshots and release
candidates are unaffacted (as those have the date in the second patch-level
version component)

Reviewers: simonmar, bgamari, austin, thomie, ezyang

Reviewed By: bgamari, thomie, ezyang

Differential Revision: https://phabricator.haskell.org/D1673
16 files changed:
.gitignore
aclocal.m4
boot
compiler/ghc.cabal.in
compiler/ghc.mk
configure.ac
ghc.mk
ghc/ghc-bin.cabal.in
ghc/ghc.mk
iserv/iserv-bin.cabal
libraries/ghc-boot/ghc-boot.cabal.in [moved from libraries/ghc-boot/ghc-boot.cabal with 88% similarity]
libraries/ghci/ghci.cabal.in [moved from libraries/ghci/ghci.cabal with 72% similarity]
libraries/template-haskell/template-haskell.cabal
rules/build-package-data.mk
rules/foreachLibrary.mk
testsuite/tests/th/all.T