Follow-up to 25136b5e3c9d8ec6304ccc0a4194cb6745cd3927 / #130
authorHerbert Valerio Riedel <hvr@gnu.org>
Sun, 5 May 2019 10:30:35 +0000 (12:30 +0200)
committerHerbert Valerio Riedel <hvr@gnu.org>
Sun, 5 May 2019 10:35:37 +0000 (12:35 +0200)
System/Posix/Process/Common.hsc
changelog.md

index 31ff926..e070dd1 100644 (file)
@@ -385,6 +385,11 @@ readWaitStatus wstatp = do
 --   with the indicated exit @status@.
 --   The operation never returns. Since it does not use the Haskell exception
 --   system and it cannot be caught.
+--
+--   Note: Prior to @unix-2.8.0.0@ the type-signature of 'exitImmediately' was
+--   @ExitCode -> IO ()@.
+--
+-- @since 2.8.0.0
 exitImmediately :: ExitCode -> IO a
 exitImmediately status = do
     _ <- c_exit (exitcode2Int status)
index 6624129..16da602 100644 (file)
@@ -1,6 +1,6 @@
 # Changelog for [`unix` package](http://hackage.haskell.org/package/unix)
 
-## 2.8.0.0
+## 2.8.0.0 *UNRELEASED*
 
   * Added terminal output flags to `System.Posix.Terminal.Common.TerminalMode`
 
@@ -17,6 +17,9 @@
 
   * Remove deprecated `execvpe(3)` legacy-emulation CPP macro
 
+  * Generalise return type of `exitImmediately` from `ExitCode -> IO ()` to
+    `∀a. ExitCode -> IO a` (#130)
+
 ## 2.7.2.2  *May 2017*
 
   * Bundled with GHC 8.2.1